Krystal Rivers Named to 2013 All-SEC Volleyball Team

Dec. 2, 2013

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - University of Alabama redshirt freshman middle blocker Krystal Rivers (Birmingham, Ala.) was named to the 2013 All-Southeastern Conference Volleyball Team as announced by the conference office on Monday. In addition to the All-SEC selection, Rivers was also named to the 2013 SEC All-Freshman Team.

En route to her selection to the All-SEC and SEC All-Freshman teams, Rivers started every match and played every set for the Crimson Tide in 2013. Rivers leads Alabama with 421 kills to go along with a team-high .406 hitting percentage. She is currently fifth in the SEC with 3.57 kills per set, while her hitting percentage ranks third in the SEC.

Rivers also leads the Tide with 103 blocks, totaling a team-best 35 solo blocks and 68 assisted blocks. Her 35 solo blocks are the fifth most in a single season at Alabama.

During the season, Rivers recorded double digits in kills 21 times, which included a career-high 25 in a five-set win at Clemson on Sept. 20. She's posted a hitting percentage over .300 in 23 matches, while hitting over .400, 17 times, over .500, 10 times, over .600, six times and over .700, three times.

In 18 conference matches, Rivers collected 230 kills to average 3.59 kills per set with a .367 hitting percentage, helping the Tide post an 11-7 mark to finish fourth in the league standings. Rivers had 11 of her 14 aces in conference matches, and tallied 62 blocks against SEC opponents, to average 0.97 blocks per set against league opponents. 

Missouri setter Molly Kreklow was named SEC Player of the Year, Florida's Taylor Unroe was named the Libero of the Year and Missouri's Carly Kan was selected as the Freshman of the Year. Mizzou's Wayne Kreklow was selected as the Coach of the Year and Auburn's Camila Jersonsky earned the conference's Scholar Athlete of the Year.

The All-SEC Team is an 18-member team voted on by the league's head coaches while the freshman team consists of seven members. No ties are broken.

2013 All-SEC Volleyball Teams
Player of the Year: Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Libero of the Year: Taylor Unroe, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Carly Kan, Missouri
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Coach of the Year: Wayne Kreklow, Missouri

2013 All-SEC Team
Krystal Rivers, Alabama
Meredith Hays, Arkansas
Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Alex Holston, Florida
Chloe Mann, Florida
?iva Recek, Florida
Taylor Unroe, Florida
Brittany Northcutt, Georgia
Whitney Billings, Kentucky
Alexandra Morgan, Kentucky
Briana Holman, LSU
Lisa Henning, Missouri
Carly Kan, Missouri
Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Whitney Little, Missouri
Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina
Allie Sawatzky, Texas A&M
Shelby Sullivan, Texas A&M

SEC All-Freshman Team
Krystal Rivers, Alabama
Alex Holston, Florida
Anni Thomasson, Kentucky
Briana Holman, LSU
Kimmy Gardiner, Mississippi State
Carly Kan, Missouri
Jazzmin Babers, Texas A&M