Women's Tennis Wins Four ITA Regional Awards

Jenny Mainz

May 15, 2013

SKILLMAN, N.J. - Awards continue to roll in for the women's tennis team as it picked up four regional honors from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association on Wednesday. Head Coach Jenny Mainz earned her third Wilson/ITA Southern Coach of the Year award, while Alexa Guarachi was named the Senior of the Year, Maya Jansen the Player to Watch and Antonia Foehse the Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship honoree.

Mainz, in her 16th season, has led Alabama to the NCAA Championship Round of 16 for the first time in program history, where the ninth-seeded Tide will face No. 8 California on Friday. Alabama heads into the weekend with a 21-5 record, marking the first 20-win season under Mainz and first for the Tide since 1984. She has had at least three players ranked nationally in singles all season and boasts one of the top-10 doubles teams in the nation in Guarachi and Mary Anne Macfarlane.

Guarachi, the winningest player ever to wear the crimson and white in women's tennis, is a three-time All-SEC First Team selection and was the 2011 ITA Southern Region Player to Watch. She has beaten nine nationally-ranked opponents in singles and has 23 overall victories this season. Paired with Macfarlane in doubles, the duo has collected 23 wins as well and enters the 2013 NCAA Doubles Championship as a top-eight seed.

Jansen has had a solid first season with the Tide, where she has played primarily at the No. 3 singles and No. 2 doubles positions. Overall, she has earned 24 victories in singles, 15 of which came in dual matches, and another 24 in doubles. Jansen has been ranked all season in singles, reaching a high of 59, and recently entered the doubles rankings with Foehse.

Foehse has clinched a team-leading six matches this season for Alabama and holds a singles record of 18-8 and a doubles mark of 18-5. She was recently named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, holding a 3.975 GPA in psychology. The two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete was twice named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll and has been a member of the Dean's List in every semester while making the President's List three times.