Women's Tennis Well Represented in SEC Awards

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM Mary Anne Macfarlane
Mary Anne Macfarlane

April 25, 2012

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The women’s tennis team collected a host of Southeastern Conference awards as the league announced its annual list of honorees on Wednesday.

Crimson Tide head coach Jenny Mainz and senior Courtney McLane repeated as SEC Coach of the Year and SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, respectively. In addition, junior Alexa Guarachi and sophomore Mary Anne Macfarlane were named to the All-SEC First Team, while McLane earned All-SEC Second Team honors.

Mainz, who is in her 15th season at Alabama, has guided the Tide to an 18-4 overall record and 10-1 mark in SEC play, which stands as the best conference record in program history. On April 9, Alabama came in at No. 7 in the national team rankings, marking the highest standing for the Tide women’s tennis program. Alabama captured its second-straight SEC Western Division title this season, and fourth overall, all of which have come under Mainz.

McLane has served as the prime example of a student-athlete throughout her career at the Capstone. The Lawrenceville, Ga., native earned her undergraduate degree in management in three years while holding a 4.0 GPA and will complete her master’s degree in marketing this year, where she also holds a 4.0 GPA. McLane has earned numerous awards for her academics and athletics including a spot on the 2011 Capital One Academic All-America Season Team. She has been a member of the Dean’s List throughout her entire career and was named to the President’s List for three semesters.

On the court, McLane has been ranked in both singles and doubles and is currently one win away from becoming part of the winningest doubles teams in Alabama history with Guarachi. This season, McLane clinched a team-high four matches, including the Tide’s win over No. 5 Georgia, marking Alabama’s second-ever victory over the Bulldogs and first since 1977.

Guarachi has also been a steady fixture in the national rankings, both in singles and doubles. The Destin, Fla., native was named SEC Player of the Week twice this season and only lost one singles match in SEC play, which came against a higher-ranked opponent. Guarachi has amassed 30 victories in singles, taking down nine nationally-ranked foes along the way, while also adding 24 wins in doubles. This is her second consecutive season making the All-SEC First Team, and third year overall that she has been recognized by the league as she was a member of the All-SEC Second Team and All-Freshman Team in 2010.

Macfarlane, who hails from Ogden, Utah, has enjoyed a successful sophomore season with the Tide, as she leads the team in singles and doubles victories with 32 and 30, respectively. She joins McLane and Guarachi in both the national singles and doubles rankings and has earned 14 wins over ranked opponents in singles this season. Macfarlane, and partner Antonia Foehse, won 13 straight doubles contests to start the dual match season before dropping one of two losses all season to the 13th-ranked team in the nation. Macfarlane broke the single season win record by a No. 1 player this season and is tied for the second most wins in a season. This is Macfarlane’s second year on the All-SEC First Team.

Coach of the Year: Jenny Mainz, Alabama
Player of the Year: Lauren Embree, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Lauren Herring, Georgia
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Courtney McLane, Alabama

All-SEC First Team
Alexa Guarachi, Alabama
Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama
Lauren Embree, Florida
Joanna Mather, Florida
Sofie Oyen, Florida
Allie Will, Florida
Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia
Lauren Herring, Georgia
Maho Kowase, Georgia
Kristi Boxx, Mississippi
Brynn Boren, Tennessee
Jackie Wu, Vanderbilt

All-SEC Second Team
Courtney McLane, Alabama
Alexandra Cercone, Florida
Caroline Hitimana, Florida
Kate Fuller, Georgia
Nadja Gilchrist, Georgia
Lilly Kimbell, Georgia
Abby Guthrie, Mississippi
Caroline Rohde-Moe, Mississippi
Erin Stephens, Mississippi
Jaklin Alawi, South Carolina
Anya Morgina, South Carolina
Natalie Pluskota, Tennessee
Kata Szekely, Tennessee
Marie Casares, Vanderbilt
Lauren Mira, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Lauren Herring, Georgia
Marie Casares, Vanderbilt
Ashleigh Antal, Vanderbilt
Julia Jones, Mississippi
Erin Stephens, Mississippi
Stephanie Fox, Kentucky
Edmée Morin-Kougoucheff, Kentucky