Softball Sweeps Postseason Conference Honors

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM Charlotte Morgan becomes only the second player in conference history to be named SEC Player of the Year twice.
Charlotte Morgan becomes only the second player in conference history to be named SEC Player of the Year twice.

May 12, 2010

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - For the first time in Southeastern Conference history a single team captured all four major athletic awards. The Alabama softball team secured the Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year honors as announced by the league office Wednesday.

"I think it's a great honor and sign of respect when the opposing coaches in your league vote for these awards," head coach Patrick Murphy said. "I know everyone that was honored is appreciative of the respect. When it comes from your peers, I think it is even more special to receive the recognition. Both Aly (Habetz) and Vann (Stuedeman) did a terrific job all season long with their respective duties. It has been a team effort all year long and despite losing five starters, four of them all-Americans, everyone has played their role to perfection."

For the second straight year Charlotte Morgan was named SEC Player of the Year. The senior who nabbed the honor for the first time in school history last season, paced the conference in home runs (9), RBI (36), slugging percentage (.848) and finished second in the league in walks (30). Morgan is only the second player in SEC history to be named Player of the Year twice, joining Iyhia McMichael of Mississippi State who won the honor in 2003 and 2004. The senior from Moreno Valley, Calif., was also named first team All-SEC as a designated player.

Kelsi Dunne earned the SEC Pitcher of the Year honor for the first time in her career by leading the league in wins (13), strikeouts (144) and opponent batting average (.174). Dunne is the second player in Alabama history to win SEC Pitcher of the Year, joining former Tide great Stephanie VanBrakle, who won the honor in 2006. The junior from Port Orange, Fla., struck out at least 10 batters in seven conference games this season. Dunne was named first team All-SEC for the second straight season.

Newcomer Kayla Braud continued Alabama's dominance for the Freshman of the Year award, becoming the seventh member of the Crimson Tide and third in a row to snag the honor. Braud was named Co-Freshman of the Year, sharing the honor with Kat Dotson of Tennessee and Rachele Fico of Louisiana State. As a freshman Braud led the entire conference in runs scored (38), while ranking second in the league in batting average (.500), hits (42) and on-base percentage (.580). The freshman from Eugene, Ore., was named to both the first team All-SEC and freshman All-SEC teams.

Tide skipper Patrick Murphy was named SEC Coach of the Year for the second time in his storied career at the Capstone. Murphy, who was also named Coach of the Year in 2006, led a team with new starters at seven different defensive positions to the school's second regular season conference title.

Junior Whitney Larsen was selected to the second team. Larsen finished the conference campaign with a .346 average, .705 slugging percentage and .458 on base percentage. She ranked third in the league and led all shortstops in runs (29), home runs (8) and RBI (28). The Vestavia Hills, Ala., native collected three or more RBI in six different league contests.

Newcomer Keima Davis was named to the All-Freshman team. The rookie took full advantage of her playing time late in the season, recording a .323 average, fielded a perfect 1.000 in centerfield and collected a hit in four of her last eight starts.

First Team All-SEC
P - Kelsi Dunne, Alabama
P - Stephanie Brombacher, Florida
IF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
IF - Megan Bush, Florida
IF - Alisa Goler, Georgia
IF - Molly Johnson, Kentucky
OF - Francesca Enea, Florida
OF - Taylor Schlopy, Georgia
OF - Megan Wiggins, Georgia
OF - Kirsten Shortridge, LSU
OF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee
C - Chelsea Bramlett, Mississippi State
DP/U - Charlotte Morgan, Alabama

Second Team All-SEC
P - Rachele Fico, LSU
P - Ivy Renfroe, Tennessee
IF - Whitney Larsen, Alabama
IF - Kyndall White, Auburn
IF - Aja Paculba, Florida
IF - Lauren Grill, Mississippi
OF - Jessica Bachkora, Arkansas
OF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida
OF - Rachel Mitchell, LSU
OF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
C - Megan Yocke, Kentucky
DP/U - Miranda Dixon, Arkansas

Freshman All-SEC
P - Rachele Fico, LSU
P - Ivy Renfroe, Tennessee
IF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
IF - Courtney Breault, Arkansas
IF - Brittany Walker, Florida
IF - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
OF - Keima Davis, Alabama
OF - Jessica Cooley, Mississippi State
OF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
OF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee
C - Brittany Schutte, Florida
DP/U - Kelsey Horton, Florida

SEC All-Defensive
P - Kelsi Dunne, Alabama; Rachele Fico, LSU
C - Megan Yocke, Kentucky
1B - Brianna Hesson, Georgia
2B - Aja Paculba, Florida
SS - Molly Johnson, Kentucky
3B - Jessica Mouse, LSU; Sandra Smith, Arkansas
LF - Megan Wiggins, Georgia
CF - Kirsten Shortridge, LSU
RF - Rachel Mitchell, LSU; Kat Dotson, Tennessee

Player of the Year
Charlotte Morgan, Alabama

Pitcher of the Year
Kelsi Dunne, Alabama

Coach of the Year
Patrick Murphy, Alabama

Co-Freshmen of the Year
Kayla Braud, Alabama
; Rachele Fico, LSU; Kat Dotson, Tennessee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jessica Bachkora, Arkansas