Alabama Enters 2014 SEC Softball Tournament as No. 1 Seed

May 4, 2014

TUSCALOOSA, Ala . -  The bracket is set for the 2014 SEC Softball Tournament in Columbia, S.C., and Alabama will enter the weekend as the No. 1 overall seed. 

The 10 teams will be seeded in the following order:
#1 – Alabama
#2 – Tennessee
#3 – Missouri
#4 – Florida
#5 – Georgia
#6 – LSU
#7 – Kentucky
#8 – South Carolina
#9 – Auburn
#10 – Mississippi State 

The Crimson Tide’s first game will be on Thursday, May 8 at 5:30 p.m. CT and they will face the winner of Wednesday’s matchup between tournament host South Carolina and Auburn. The winner of Alabama’s game will go on to face either Florida or Georgia in the semifinals on Friday, May 9 at 4:30 p.m. CT. The Tournament Championship will be on Saturday, May 10 at 7 p.m. CT. 

The SEC Tournament Championship will be broadcast on ESPN 2 while every other game of the tournament will be broadcast on ESPNU. 

Alabama has qualified for every SEC Tournament since the program’s inception in 1997 and has now earned the No. 1 seed five times, last doing so in 2012. The Tide owns a 33-20 record overall in SEC Tournament play and has won five Tournament titles, taking home the trophy in 1998, 2003, 2005, 2010 and 2012. 

Alabama secured its No. 1 seed this past weekend with two wins on the road against Missouri, as the Tide only needed one win to clinch sole possession of its fifth SEC Championship. Alabama has won the SEC Championship and has earned a No. 1 seed in the conference tournament in four of the last five seasons. 

2014 SEC Tournament Schedule
Wednesday, May 7
Game One - #7 Kentucky vs. #10 Mississippi State – 4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT (ESPNU)
Game Two - #8 South Carolina vs. #9 Auburn – 6:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Thursday, May 8
Game Three - #3 Missouri vs. #6 LSU – 11 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. CT (ESPNU)
Game Four - #2 Tennessee vs. Game One Winner – 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)
Game Five - #4 Florida vs. #5 Georgia – 4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT (ESPNU)
Game Six - #1 Alabama vs. Game Two Winner – 6:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Friday, May 9
Game Seven – Game Three Winner vs. Game Four Winner – 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT (ESPNU)
Game Eight – Game Five Winner vs. Game Six Winner – 5:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. CT (ESPNU)

Saturday, May 10
SEC Championship – Game Seven Winner vs. Game Eight Winner – 8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT (ESPN 2)