No. 2 Softball Claims Bama Bash Title

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM Kaila Hunt hit a three-run home run en route to being named to the tournament MVP.
Kaila Hunt hit a three-run home run en route to being named to the tournament MVP.

Feb. 26, 2012

Box Score |  Photo Gallery 

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The No. 2 ranked Alabama softball team claimed the Easton Bama Bash Presented by Drash championship by run-ruling Southern Illinois-Edwardsville, 8-0, Sunday afternoon at Rhoads Stadium. With the five wins over the weekend, the Crimson Tide improves to 13-0 on the season.

“Whenever you can get a shutout in softball in 2012 it’s a great day,” Alabama head coach Patrick Murphy said. “The defense played great and the first inning was awesome. To come out and go through the order and put seven runs up, you have to feel good about it.”

Alabama exploded for seven runs in the first inning, sending 12 players to the plate in the frame. After senior Amanda Locke drilled an RBI single to left, sophomore Kaila Hunt drilled a three-run shot over the wall in center to give the Tide a 4-0 lead.

Senior Jazlyn Lunceford then hit a two-run double to left before senior Jennifer Fenton capped off the inning with an RBI single to center.

Alabama added an eighth run in the bottom of the fourth on the first pitch of inning when freshman Jadyn Spencer hit a moon-shot over the wall in center for her first collegiate home run.

Alabama scored the eight runs on six hits, with Fenton batting 2-for-2, with a RBI, a run and a stolen base. Junior Lauren Sewell (2-0) recorded the five-inning shutout, allowing two hits and striking out two.

Alabama outscored its opponents 33-12 on the weekend, hitting at a .346 clip and posting a 2.33 ERA. UA smashed five home runs and held opposing batters to a .179 average.

Alabama will remain at home to host the Easton Alabama Invite. UA will welcome Maryland, Massachusetts and UAB to Rhoads Stadium. The Crimson Tide will open the tournament against The Terrapins on Friday, March 2.

Bama Bash All-Tournament Team
UA - Kaila Hunt – MVP
UA – Kayla Braud
UA – Danae Hays
UA – Amanda Locke
NDSU -  Whitney Johnson
NDSU – Taylor Mortensen
ECU – Alex Fieldhouse
ECU – Courtney Smith
SIUE – Amanda Lambrecht