Alabama Falls To Mercer, 2-1

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM
ROLLTIDEDOTCOM

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM

Sep 1, 2013

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - Mercer scored two first half goals and held off a valiant comeback effort by Alabama en route to a 2-1 win on Sunday night at the Alabama Soccer Complex.

Mercer improves to 2-1-1 with the win, while the Crimson Tide falls to 1-2 on the young season.

Mercer jumped out to an immediate lead, scoring in the fifth minute to take a 1-0 lead. The Bears added another goal at the 26:45 mark to stretch the lead to 2-0.

Merel Van Dongen, who has accounted for the Tide's three goals this season, scored on a header from a corner kick by freshman Mia Jahr at the 56:27 mark to cut the lead to 2-1. But Alabama could not complete the comeback in the end.

UA outshot Mercer 21-7 for the game, including 8-3 in the second half alone, and had seven corner kicks to the Bears' four.

The Tide will return to action next weekend, when it competes in the Denver Invitational. Alabama will open the event on Friday vs. Colorado at 5:30 p.m. CT (4:30 p.m. MT) and will play the tournament-host Denver on Sunday at 2:15 p.m. CT (1:15 p.m. MT).

Get all the latest information on the team by following AlabamaSoccer on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook. General athletic news can also be found at UA_Athletics on Twitter and Instagram and Alabama Athletics on Facebook.


 

 

     
    Alabama Holiday Sale