Jenkins and Blands Earn SEC Postseason Honors



BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ?? The Southeastern Conference announced its 2008 postseason awards Tuesday with Tierney Jenkins (Mt. Juliet, Tenn.) being tabbed to the All-Freshman Team. Junior Camilla Blands (Naerum, Denmark) was named to the SEC Community Service Team.

Jenkins became the first Tide player to be named to the All-Freshman squad since Kate Mastin earned the accolade in 2004. Jenkins put together one of the top freshman campaigns in the conference this season.

“It is rare that freshmen come in and immediately make the transition to the college game mentally and physically,” Alabama head coach Stephany Smith said. “It is especially rare for that freshman to come in and lead the team in points and be one of the leaders in rebounds. That is exactly what Tierney has been for us this season.”

The Mt. Juliet, Tenn. native was second among all freshmen in the league with 11.6 points per game. The newcomer led all freshmen on the glass with 6.7 rebounds per game. Her 11.6 points per contest leads all Tide scorers and her 6.7 rebounds is second on the squad.

Jenkins also added a presence on the defensive end by leading the team with 24 steals. Her six steals against Washington State in the Junkanoo Jam was tied for the second most steals in the conference in a single game.

“I am honored to receive this award,” Jenkins said. “Coming in I would have never of thought that I could get to this point, but with the help of my teammates and the coaching staff pushing me, if it were not for them, I would have never been honored with this award.”

The 6-0 freshman had the largest single-game point outburst on the team. Jenkins scored a career-best 29 points against Hampton on Dec.20. For her effort, she was named the SEC Freshman of the Week after leading the Tide to three-straight wins.

Blands, the lone junior on the squad and one of only two upperclassmen scholarship players was named to the SEC Community Service Team. Blands made time on her busy schedule to frequently go to T-Town Paws animal shelter in Tuscaloosa to walk the dogs and play with the animals.

“Camilla has gained the respect of not just the coaches, but more importantly her teammates,” Smith said. “She has always had the qualities of a leader. There was a two-week time in SEC play when Camilla was injured, over that time it became obvious how much of a leader she has become.”

Blands, who only saw limited action as a sophomore put together a solid junior campaign. The Naerum, Denmark native is third on the team during conference play with 7.9 points per game. She is second on the team with 27 three-pointers made and 30.4 minutes played per contest.

Sylvia Fowles of LSU was named the Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. Tennessee's Angie Bjorklund was named Freshman of the Year, while Vanderbilt's Jessica Mooney and LSU's Allison Hightower share Sixth Woman of the Year.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Woman and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 12 coaches.

The 2008 SEC Women's Basketball Tournament begins Thursday, March 6 and runs through Sunday, March 9 in Nashville, Tenn. SEC's regional sports network (FSN South, FSN Southwest and FSN Florida) will televise all games on Thursday, Friday and Saturday while ESPN2 will broadcast the championship game.

The complete 2008 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

First Team All-SEC
DeWanna Bonner, Auburn
Marshae Dotson, Florida
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Quianna Chaney, LSU
Sylvia Fowles, LSU*
Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee
Candace Parker, Tennessee*
Christina Wirth, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Ashley Houts, Georgia
Sarah Elliott, Kentucky
Samantha Mahoney. Kentucky
Erica White, LSU
Shawn Goff, Ole Miss
Demetress Adams, South Carolina
Shannon Bobbitt, Tennessee
Jennifer Risper, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Tierney Jenkins, Alabama

Alli Smalley, Auburn*
Angela Puleo, Georgia
Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky*
Amber Smith, Kentucky
Mary Kathryn Govero, Mississippi State
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee*
Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt
Hannah Tuomi, Vanderbilt

All-Defensive Team
Brittney Vaughn, Arkansas
Sylvia Fowles, LSU*
Demetress Adams, South Carolina
Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee
Jennifer Risper, Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year
Van Chancellor, LSU

Player of the Year
Sylvia Fowles, LSU

Freshman of the Year
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee

Defensive Player of the Year
Sylvia Fowles, LSU

6th Woman of the Year
Jessica Mooney, Vanderbilt
Allison Hightower, LSU

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Chelsea Chowning, Kentucky

* Unanimous Selection