Men's and Women's Tennis Earn ITA All-Academic Team Honors

July 11, 2014

SKILLMAN, N.J. - Both the Crimson Tide men's and women's tennis programs were honored as 2014 Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic Teams, which was announced by the organization this week.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA member program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All eligible student-athletes whose names appear on the NCAA, NAIA, NJCAA, or CA JUCO eligibility form and have competed in one or more varsity matches must average into the GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2013 and spring 2014).

In addition to the teams being recognized, several individuals were named ITA Scholar-Athletes including Hayes Brewer, Sean Donohue, Becker O'Shaughnessey and Daniil Proskura on the men's side and Carmen Blanco, Mary Anne Daines, Maya Jansen, Natalia Maynetto, Erin Routliffe, Danielle Spielmann and Emily Zabor on the women's side.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman thorough senior year).

The men's and women's tennis teams have collected several academic awards throughout the season as both won the highest team GPA award at the Alabama student-athlete banquet in April. Additionally, the teams swept Southeastern Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year nods with Proskura winning for the men and Daines for the women, while Zabor repeated as the NCAA Elite 89 award winner.