Ricky Doverspike Earns All-SEC Second Team Honors

Ricky Doverspike

April 26, 2012

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Senior Ricky Doverspike was named to the All-Southeastern Conference Second Team for men's tennis, which was announced by the league office on Thursday. This is Doverspike's first postseason accolade from the SEC.

During his senior season, the Atlanta native has been ranked in both singles and doubles, playing primarily at the No. 1 position in both. Doverspike has collected 16 wins in singles in addition to 19 wins in doubles. Paired with Jarryd Botha, the duo has taken down five nationally-ranked foes in doubles including a pair in the top-10. They have won six of their last seven doubles matches together and clinched the doubles point against Tennessee in the SEC Championship in a tiebreaker against the Volunteers' 10th-ranked team in the nation. In singles action, 12 of Doverspike's 16 wins have come in straight sets.

Coach of the Year: Dennis Emery, Kentucky
Player of the Year: Eric Quigley, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Nik Scholtz, Mississippi
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Charlie Jones, Vanderbilt

First Team All-SEC
Andreas Mies, Auburn
Alex Stamchev, Auburn
KU Singh, Georgia
Wil Spencer, Georgia
Panav Jha, Kentucky
Alex Musialek, Kentucky
Eric Quigley, Kentucky
Anthony Rossi, Kentucky
Nik Scholtz, Mississippi
Marcel Thiemann, Mississippi
Louis Cant, Mississippi State
Artem Ilyushin, Mississippi State
Mikelis Libietis, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC
Ricky Doverspike, Alabama
Tripper Carleton, Florida
Bob van Overbeek, Florida
Nassim Slilam, Florida
Sadio Doumbia, Georgia
Ignacio Taboada, Georgia
Tom Jomby, Kentucky
Olivier Borsos, LSU
Neal Skupski, LSU
Jonas Lutjen, Mississippi
Hunter Reese, Tennessee
Charlie Jones, Vanderbilt
Gonzales Austin, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Nathan Pasha, Georgia
Chris Simpson, LSU
Nik Scholtz, Mississippi
Andrew Adams, South Carolina
Mikelis Libietis, Tennessee
Hunter Reese, Tennessee
Gonzales Austin, Vanderbilt