Tide Trio Earns All-SEC Honors for Men's Tennis; Proskura Repeats as Scholar-Athlete of the Year

April 24, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The men's tennis team had three players named All-Southeastern Conference performers, which was announced by the league on Thursday afternoon. Daniil Proskura repeated as the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year while also earning First Team All-SEC honors for the first time in his career. Becker O'Shaughnessey was named Second Team All-SEC for the second-straight year, and Nikko Madregallejo was one of eight presented with All-Freshman Team honors.

"I'm really happy for this group as they have made an impression not only upon us at Alabama but also throughout the conference," said Alabama head coach George Husack. "The development of student-athletes to perform at such a high and demanding level is a continuous process. For each one of these players, they have made strides over the course of one or more seasons. It's an honor that they should be proud of and let it continue to fuel them for seasons to come."

Proskura, co-captain of the 2014 squad, has excelled throughout his career at The Capstone both athletically and academically. Majoring in finance, he holds a 3.875 GPA and is a two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete and a two-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll. Proskura was awarded the 2013 ITA Southern Region Arthur Ashe Jr. Leadership & Sportsmanship Award as well as the 2014 H. Crow Memorial Scholarship in Real Estate at Alabama. He has made the President's List three semesters and the Dean's List for five semesters while also being a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

On the court, Proskura has ranked as high as No. 12 in singles and No. 7 in doubles nationally this season. Partnered with O'Shaughnessey, the duo beat the No. 1 and No. 2 doubles teams in the nation in consecutive weeks. Proskura leads the Crimson Tide in doubles victories with 16, including 12 at the No. 1 position. He is also in the midst of a five-match winning streak in singles, all coming at the No. 1 spot. Proskura has defeated four nationally-ranked opponents in singles and another four in doubles.

"Daniil has embraced challenges and demanded excellence from himself, his teammates and coaches," said Husack. "From not knowing the English language very well his freshman year, being primarily regarded as a singles player early in his career, experiencing a coaching staff change and not having much of a voice in the direction of our program, to making leaps and bounds on the court, in the classroom and as a team captain is remarkable. He has set the standard for Alabama tennis as a student and athlete."

O'Shaughnessey leads Alabama in overall singles wins with 21 and has ranked as high as No. 51 in singles and No. 7 in doubles. He has also beat four nationally-ranked opponents in singles and another four in doubles. O'Shaughnessey ended the regular season on a four-match winning streak in singles at the No. 2 position.

"Becker arrived on campus last year as our lone freshman and without many expectations," said Husack. "He made a quick and lasting impression then and continued to do so this season. Like Daniil, he has made strides as a student carrying above a 3.5 cumulative GPA as well as seen his tennis game rise to new levels on our team and in the conference. I'm excited for Becker's next two seasons and to witness his continued growth as a complete player and leader of our program."

Madregallejo began the SEC season with three-straight singles victories and leads Alabama in wins against league opponents in singles with five overall. Two of his biggest wins came the last weekend of March where he came from behind to clinch the Tide's win over Vanderbilt, 1-6, 6-3, 6-4, before defeating Kentucky's Jerry Lopez, 7-6(4), 6-4, to help Alabama get its first win over the Wildcats since 2009. Following those performances Madregallejo was named SEC Freshman of the Week.

"There were a lot of good freshmen in the conference this season, and it's an honor to have Nikko's impact recognized," said Husack. "He has learned a lot about college and tennis during his first year and been very receptive to learning ways to improve on court as well as in the classroom. He has a bright future ahead of him here at Alabama."

Get all the latest information on the team by following AlabamaMTN on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook. General athletic news can also be found at UA_Athletics on Twitter and Instagram and Alabama Athletics on Facebook.

Player of the Year: Nik Scholtz, Ole Miss
Freshman of the Year: Florian Lakat, Mississippi State
Coach of the Year: Steve Denton, Texas A&M
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Daniil Proskura, Alabama

First Team All-SEC
Daniil Proskura, Alabama
Florent Diep, Florida
Garrett Brasseaux, Georgia
Austin Smith, Georgia
Nathan Pasha, Georgia
Tom Jomby, Kentucky
Nik Scholtz, Ole Miss
Mikelis Liebietis, Tennessee
Hunter Reese, Tennessee
Harrison Adams, Texas A&M
Shane Vinsant, Texas A&M
Gonzales Austin, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Becker O'Shaughnessey, Alabama
Daniel Cochrane, Auburn
Lukas Ollert, Auburn
Maxx Lipman, Florida
Gordon Watson, Florida
Alejandro Gomez, Kentucky
Beck Pennington, Kentucky
Chris Simpson, LSU
Florian Lakat, Mississippi State
Andrew Adams, South Carolina
Jeremy Efferding, Texas A&M
Ryan Lipman, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Nikko Madregallejo, Alabama
Johan den Toom, Arkansas
Maxx Lipman, Florida
Elliott Orkin, Florida
Jerry Lopez, Kentucky
Justin Butsch, LSU
Florian Lakat, Mississippi State
Andrew Schafer, South Carolina