Countdown to Tee Time
Alabama Will Play New Mexico in the Match Play Quarterfinals on Friday

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM Justin Thomas will anchor the Alabama lineup against New Mexico on Friday.
Justin Thomas will anchor the Alabama lineup against New Mexico on Friday.

May 30, 2013

MILTON, Ga. – The second-ranked Alabama men’s golf team will face New Mexico in the quarterfinals of match play at the 2013 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships at 11:15 a.m. (CDT) on Friday.

The Lobos earned the sixth seed after a one-hole playoff that consisted of four teams following the conclusion of the third round on Thursday. Arizona State garnered the eighth seed and will face top-seeded California at 9 a.m. (CDT). Texas A&M did not advance out of the playoff. 

Second-seeded Georgia Tech will face No. 7-seed UNLV at 10:30 a.m. while Texas and Illinois will play at 9:45 a.m. in the No. 4/No. 5 match.

Match pairings were set at a pairing party at the Crabapple Course clubhouse late Thursday evening. Bobby Wyatt will go off first for the Crimson Tide followed by Trey Mullinax, Scott Strohmeyer, Cory Whitsett and Justin Thomas.

Live streaming of Friday’s match play quarterfinals can be seen at from 12:15 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Follow live stats at and the Crimson Tide on Twitter @AlabamaMGolf and on Facebook at AlabamaMGolf.


Match Play Championship Schedule

Friday, May 31 – Quarterfinals of Match Play


Match 1 - Seed #1 California vs. #8 Arizona State

10:00 a.m. – Michael Weaver vs. Austin Quick

10:09 a.m. – Joel Stalter vs. Max Rottluff

10:18 a.m. – Max Homa vs. Trey Ka’ahanui

10:27 a.m. – Michael Kim vs. Spencer Lawson

10:36 a.m. – Brandon Hagy vs. Jon Rahm


Match 2 - Seed #4 Texas vs. #5 Illinois

10:45 a.m. – Julio Vegas vs. Thomas Detry

10:54 a.m. – Toni Hakula vs. Charlie Danielson

11:03 a.m. – Brandon Stone vs. Thomas Pieters

11:12 a.m. – Kramer Hickok vs. Brian Campbell

11:21 a.m. – Cody Gribble vs. Alex Burge


Match 3 - Seed #2 Georgia Tech vs. #7 UNLV

11:30 a.m. – Seth Reeves vs. Carl Jonson

11:39 a.m. – Shun Yat Hak vs. A.J. McInerney

11:48 a.m. – Bo Andrews vs. Nicholas Maruri

11:57 a.m. – Ollie Schniederjans vs. Kevin Penner

12:06 p.m. – Anders Albertson vs. Kurt Kitayama


Match 4 - #3 Alabama vs. #6 New Mexico

12:15 p.m. – Bobby Wyatt vs. Victor Perez

12:24 p.m. – Trey Mullinax vs. Gavin Green

12:33 p.m. – Scott Strohmeyer vs. Benjamin Bauch

12:42 p.m. – Cory Whitsett vs. John Catlin

12:51 p.m. – Justin Thomas vs. James Erkenbeck


Saturday, June 1 – Semifinals of Match Play

10 a.m. – Match 1 & 2 winners

10:45 a.m. – Match 3 & 4 winners


Sunday, June 2 – Final Round

10 a.m. – Championship match