Countdown to Tee Time
Men's Golf Begins Play at SEC Championship at Sea Island on Friday

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM Scott Strohmeyer and the Crimson Tide begin play at 6:30 a.m. (CDT) on Friday.
Scott Strohmeyer and the Crimson Tide begin play at 6:30 a.m. (CDT) on Friday.

April 17, 2013

Alabama-Notes Get Acrobat Reader

ST. SIMON'S ISLAND, Ga. - The No. 2 Alabama men's golf team will compete in the 2013 SEC Championship on April 19-21 at the par-70, 6,898-yard Seaside Course.

For the 13th year, the Southeastern Conference will convene at the Sea Island Golf Club, in St. Simons Island, Ga., to crown the annual conference champion. For the 11th time, the event will be hosted on the Seaside Course, which is a par-70, 6,898-yard layout that also hosts the PGA Tour's McGladrey Classic.

The three-day, 54-hole event begins Friday with the Crimson Tide teeing off at 6:30 a.m. CDT, and wraps up with the final round Sunday, April 21. UA will play with Florida and Georgia in the first round.

Alabama captured the school's third SEC Championship in 2012 with a six-shot victory over Auburn. The Crimson Tide shot the second-lowest 54-hole score in the 10 events held on the Seaside Course with a 12-under-par 828 (827 by Georgia in 2006).

The 2013 edition of the SEC Championship will feature six teams ranked in the most recent Golf World/Nike Coaches' Poll. Joining No. 2 Alabama at the Seaside Course are No. 8 Florida, No. 13 Georgia, No. 15 LSU, No. 19 Arkansas and No. 22 Auburn, while Tennessee, Texas A&M, Missouri, South Carolina and Mississippi State are receiving votes. Only Kentucky, Mississippi and Vanderbilt are not represented in the coaches' poll.

Coach Jay Seawell, the reigning SEC Coach of the Year, will call on the same lineup that he has used for the past two tournaments, starting Cory Whitsett, Justin Thomas, Bobby Wyatt, Scott Strohmeyer and Trey Mullinax.

Whitsett leads the team with a 70.96 scoring average, which is second in the SEC. Whitsett also ranks fifth in the nation by the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. Wyatt (fifth) and Thomas (eighth) are also among the top 10 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index.

Combined Whitsett and Thomas have won four individual titles this year and have eight top-five finishes. Thomas was the Golfweek National and SEC Player of the Week following his win at the Schenkel Invitational and Whitsett garnered the honors following his wins at the Linger Longer Invitational and the Aggie Invitational.

Alabama has won three SEC Championships, capturing the title in 1979 and 2008 along with the 2012 win. The Crimson Tide has three SEC medalists with Bobby Hill winning in 1951, Michael Thompson in 2008 and Thomas in 2012.

Live stats are available at and you can follow breaking news on the Crimson Tide on Facebook at AlabamaMGolf and on Twitter at @AlabamaMGolf.