Tide's Swan and Thompson Candidates for Jack Nicklaus Award

Matthew Swan

April 8, 2008

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - Two University of Alabama golfers have been named to the watch list for the 2008 Jack Nicklaus Award. The Nicklaus Award is presented to the Player of the Year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as the NAIA.

Montgomery native Matthew Swan, a junior on the Alabama team, and Michael Thompson, a senior from Tucson, Ariz., were both named to the list for Division I. The winner of the award, one from each division, will be named immediately following the final round of each respective national championship. All four winners will then be invited to gather on the day of the final round of the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, near Nicklaus' hometown of Columbus, Ohio, to receive their trophies from Nicklaus himself. A 20-player All-Nicklaus Team that will be selected among candidates from the three NCAA divisions and the NAIA will be announced on June 10.

2008 Jack Nicklaus Award Watch Lists (in alphabetical order)
Division I
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Jonas Enander Hedin, Charlotte
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Aaron Goldberg, San Diego State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Rory Hie, Southern California
Russell Henley, Georgia
Siwhan Kim, Stanford
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Adam Mitchell, Georgia
Kevin O'Connell, North Carolina
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Ryan Spears, Wichita State
Hudson Swafford, Georgia
Matthew Swan, Alabama
Michael Thompson, Alabama