Countdown to Kickoff
Six Crimson Tide Players Earn All-America Honors from the Associated Press

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM Dee Milliner joins six Alabama players on the 2012 Associated Press All-America Team released on Tuesday.
Dee Milliner joins six Alabama players on the 2012 Associated Press All-America Team released on Tuesday.

Dec. 11, 2012

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - Alabama had six players selected to the 2012 Associated Press All-America Team on Tuesday the organization announced, included a nation-best four on the first team.

The AP recognized senior center Barrett Jones (a two-time selection), offensive guard Chance Warmack, junior cornerback Dee Milliner and junior linebacker C.J. Mosley as first-team All-Americans. Junior tackle D.J. Fluker was a second-team selection and junior quarterback AJ McCarron was named to the third team.

Alabama has had 19 players secure 22 first-team All-America accolades over the past five years and 107 players earn 125 first-team honors in program history. All four Alabama first-team selections have now secured consensus All-America status (at least three first-team selections among five accepted teams: AFCA, AP, FWAA, Walter Camp and Sporting News).

Milliner, who hails from Millbrook, Ala., has been a stalwart in the back end of the Crimson Tide's top-ranked defense. He was a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award and the Bronko Naguraski Award. He leads the nation with 18 broken up passes and is tied for second with 20 passes defended, while making 51 tackles with four tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks.

Mosley, a native of Theodore, Ala., leads the team with 99 tackles and was a finalist for the Butkus Award, which goes to the country's best linebacker. He has seven tackles for loss, four sacks, two interceptions, two pass breakups, one recovered fumble and a forced fumble. Mosley's three career interception returns for touchdowns also tie an Alabama record.

Jones, from Germantown, Tenn., is a two-time consensus All-American, earning accolades in 2011 at left tackle and then at center in 2012. He won the Rimington Trophy as the nation's top center this season. A three-time All-SEC selection (right guard, left tackle and center), he helped Alabama average 224.6 rushing yards per game while not allowing a sack in this season.

Warmack is from Atlanta, Ga., and has developed into one of the nation's top offensive linemen as a senior. He has started 39 games at the Capstone over the last three years. Warmack helped Alabama average 439.1 yards of total offense, including 224.6 yards per game on the ground, to rank 20th nationally and second in the SEC.

Fluker, from Foley, Ala., has started 35 career games at right tackle, including 29 consecutive games. A first-team All-SEC selection in 2012, he was a force on the right side of the Crimson Tide offensive line.

McCarron, a native of Mobile, Ala., leads the nation in passing efficiency (173.08) and has thrown 26 touchdowns in 2012 to set the program record for a single season. He is completing 66.5 percent of his passes for 2,669 yards, while posting a 24-2 career record.

For more information on Alabama Football, follow the Tide on Twitter @AlabamaFTBL and like the team on Facebook at AlabamaFTBL.


Quarterback: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Running back: Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Running back: Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona
Tackle: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
Tackle: Taylor Lewan, Michigan
Guard: Chance Warmack, Alabama
Guard: Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina
Center: Barrett Jones, Alabama
Tight end: Zach Ertz, Stanford
Receiver: Marqise Lee, Southern California
Receiver: Terrance Williams, Baylor
All-purpose player: Tavon Austin, West Virginia
Kicker: Cairo Santos, Tulane

End: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
End: Bjoern WernerFlorida State
Tackle: Star Lotulelei, Utah
Tackle: Will Sutton, Arizona State
Linebacker: Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Linebacker: Jarvis Jones, Georgia
Linebacker: C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Cornerback: Dee Milliner, Alabama
Cornerback: Jordan Poyer, Oregon State
Safety: Phillip Thomas, Fresno State
Safety: Matt Elam, Florida
Punter: Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech


Quarterback: Collin Klein, Kansas State
Running back: Kenjon Barner, Oregon
Running back: Johnathan Franklin, UCLA
Tackle: D.J. Fluker, Alabama
Tackle: David Yankey, Stanford
Guard: Spencer Long, Nebraska
Guard: Cyril Richardson, Baylor
Center: Dalton Freeman, Clemson
Tight end: Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame
Receiver: Stedman Bailey, West Virginia
Receiver: Quinton Patton, Louisiana Tech
All-purpose player: Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Kicker: Dustin Hopkins, Florida State

End: Damontre Moore, Texas A&M
End: Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame
Tackle: Johnathan Hankins, Ohio State
Tackle: Kawann Short, Purdue
Linebacker: Kevin Minter, LSU
Linebacker: Anthony Barr, UCLA
Linebacker: Arthur Brown, Kansas State
Cornerback: Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
Cornerback: Bradley Roby, Ohio State
Safety: Eric Reid, LSU
Safety: Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma
Punter: Riley Stephenson, BYU


Quarterback: A.J. McCarron, Alabama
Running back: Stefphon Jefferson, Nevada
Running back: Giovani Bernard, North Carolina
Tackle: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
Tackle: Eric Fisher, Central Michigan
Guard: Larry Warford, Kentucky
Guard: Xavier Su'a-Filo, UCLA
Center: Braxston Cave, Notre Dame
Tight end: Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
Receiver: DeAndre Hopkins, Clemson
Receiver: Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas
All-purpose player: Dri Archer, Kent State
Kicker: Caleb Sturgis, Florida

End: John Simon, Ohio State
End: Sam Montgomery, LSU
Tackle: Shariff Floyd, Florida
Tackle: Chris Jones, Bowling Green
. Linebacker: Khaseem Greene, Rutgers
Linebacker: Trent Murphy, Stanford
Linebacker: Kyle Van Noy, BYU
Cornerback: Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon
Cornerback: Jason Verrett, TCU
Safety: Ed Reynolds, Stanford
Safety: Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State
Punter: Kyle Christy, Florida