Countdown to Kickoff
30 Student-Athletets to Receive Their Degree on Saturday



Dec. 11, 2009


TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The University of Alabama will have 30 student-athletes receive their degree on Saturday, Dec. 12, when UA holds its winter commencement at 9 a.m. at Coleman Coliseum.

The Crimson Tide football team will have nine graduates on Saturday, including wide receiver Earl Alexander, cornerback and return specialist Javier Arenas, defensive lineman Brandon Deaderick, running back Terry Grant, tight end Baron Huber, cornerback Marquis Johnson, tight end Colin Peek, kicker Leigh Tiffin and running back Roy Upchurch.

Alabama will have 22 players on its BCS National Championship Game roster with degrees in hand when the top-ranked Crimson Tide faces No. 2 Texas on Thursday, Jan. 7, 2010 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif. 

The 2009 SEC Champions played the regular season with 13 graduates, the most of any Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) team in the nation. The list included Eryk Anders, Drew Davis, P.J. Fitzgerald, Mike Johnson, Tyrone King, Greg McElroy, Cory Reamer, Chris Rogers, Brian Selman, Ali Sharrief, Travis Sikes, Heath Thomas and Lorenzo Washington.

McElroy, who led the Tide to a 13-0 record and was named the MVP of the SEC Championship Game, finished his undergraduate degree in only three years with a 3.86 grade point average while graduating magna cum laude.

The remaining list of graduates includes Alex Kubal (baseball), Dedrea Magee (women’s basketball), Tyson David (cross country), Rue Chitwood and Natasha Klimas (cross country), Matthew Swan (men’s golf), Kathleen Ekey (women’s golf), Brittany Magee, Amanda Montgomery and Courtney Priess (gymnastics), Sara Leibold (rowing), Kelley Montalvo, Lauren Parker and Jessica Smith (softball), Elizabeth Lawson (soccer), Alin Mihalca (swimming), Kimberly Laing (women’s track), and Brandon Spradley and Matthew Watson (men’s track).

Saturday’s ceremonies will be broadcast live over the Internet. The webcast will be archived on UA’s Web site,, and will be available for viewing until Dec. 31, 2009.