Countdown to Kickoff
Saban Named Finalist for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award



Dec. 9, 2008

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Alabama head coach Nick Saban is one of 10 finalists for the Football Bowl Subdivision Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.

The second-year Alabama coach has guided the Crimson Tide to a 12-1 record and the 2008 SEC Western Division Championship. Alabama will also be making its second-ever BCS Bowl this season when the Tide faces Utah in the Allstate Sugar Bowl on Friday, Jan. 2, 2009 in New Orleans. In leading the Tide to 12 wins this season, Saban set the school record for highest increase in wins from year one to year two by an Alabama coach.

Each Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalist will have an opportunity to receive recognition in the permanent College Football Hall of Fame display in South Bend, Ind., $50,000 to support personal civic and charitable activities, and a $20,000 scholarship donation for his alumni association. After this season, the total Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year charitable and scholarship contributions will reach $680,000. The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award was introduced in 2006.

In addition to Saban, the Football Bowl Subdivision finalists are, in alphabetical order: Mack Brown (Texas); Brady Hoke (Ball State); Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern); Urban Meyer (Florida); Joe Paterno (Penn State); Chris Petersen (Boise State); Bob Stoops (Oklahoma); Jim Tressel (Ohio State) and Kyle Whittingham (Utah).

The 2008 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Winner Selection between Dec.12 and Dec. 22 college football fans are once again invited back to to cast their vote for the winner. The winner will be announced on ESPN during halftime of the Music City Bowl on Dec. 31.