Football Holds Annual Awards Banquet Sunday



Dec. 8, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The football team held its annual awards banquet Sunday night at The Cahaba Grand Conference Center.

Alabama head football coach Nick Saban addressed an audience that included members of the team, coaching staff, administration and support staff following the awards session in which he recapped the 2013 season and stated the goals for the upcoming bowl game.

The complete list of award winners is as follows:

Unsung Hero Award
To the player who has made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it
Kenny Bell, Kenyan Drake, Arie Kouandjio and Chad Lindsay

Outstanding Senior Scholar
To the senior with the highest GPA
Kevin Norwood and Cade Foster

Commitment to Academic Excellence Award
To the player who has demonstrated the greatest commitment and achievement in his academic endeavors during the previous year
Ryan Kelly, O.J. Howard, Brian Vogler, Geno Smith, DeAndrew White and Deion Belue

Iron Man Award
To the player(s) who have shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Crimson Tide’s year-round strength and conditioning program
A’Shawn Robinson, Jalston Fowler, John Fulton and Xzavier Dickson

Most Inspiring Player
To the player who affects the whole team by his attitude as well as his performance (voted on by the players)
C.J. Mosley

Pat Trammel Award
To a senior player whose character and contributions to the Alabama Football Team most personify the All-American youth of today and has reflected qualities of Integrity, Character, Importance of Academics and Inspirational Leadership during their time at Alabama
Deion Belue and Kellen Williams

Outstanding Defensive Performer
To the player with the most tackles/points
C.J. Mosley and Trey Depriest

Up-Front Award
To the outstanding lineman from each unit
Austin Shepherd, Ryan Kelly, Jeoffrey Pagan and Brandon Ivory

Defensive Achievement Award
To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit
Ed Stinson, Landon Collins, Denzel Devall and Jarrick Williams

Offensive Achievement Award
To the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit
Cyrus Kouandjio, Kevin Norwood, Anthony Steen and Brian Vogler

President’s Award
To a player from each unit who has shown perseverance in making outstanding contributions to the team’s success
Adrian Hubbard, Vinnie Sunseri, Amari Cooper and Christion Jones

Jefferson County Distinguished Alumnus Award
A former player who has exemplified the principles, values, character and attitude that make a person successful either during a particular life experience or over a period of time
Kermit Kendrick

Special Teams Player of the Year Award
To the most valuable special teams player
DeAndrew White, Cody Mandell, Landon Collins and Tana Patrick

Offensive Player of the Year Award
To the most valuable offensive player
AJ McCarron and T.J. Yeldon

Defensive Player of the Year Award
To the most valuable defensive player
C.J. Mosley and Ha Ha Clinton-Dix

Most Valuable Player Award
To the overall most valuable player on the team (voted on by the players)
C.J. Mosley

Captain Awards
To the players elected by their teammates as permanent team captains (voted on by the players)
C.J. Mosley, AJ McCarron and Kevin Norwood