Countdown to Kickoff
Alabama Places Nine on Coaches All-SEC Football Team



Dec. 8, 2009

2009 All-SEC Football Team Get Acrobat Reader

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The 2009 Southeastern Conference Champion Alabama football team placed nine players on the 2009 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches' Football Team, the league office announced Tuesday afternoon.

Alabama led the way with eight first-team All-SEC selections.  The Crimson Tide and Florida Gators tied for the most All-SEC representatives with nine total first and second team picks each.

The Crimson Tide had two of three unanimous All-SEC picks in junior linebacker and 2009 Butkus Award winner Rolando McClain and sophomore running back and Heisman Trophy finalist Mark Ingram. Florida senior quarterback Tim Tebow was the other unanimous selection.

McClain, the 2009 SEC Defensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press, leads the Crimson Tide with 101 tackles this season, including 12.5 tackles for loss (-58 yards) and four sacks (-36 yards). He also added 14 quarterback pressures, three pass breakups, two interceptions (21 return yards) and forced one fumble.

Ingram, the 2009 SEC Offensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press, shattered the Alabama single-season rushing record with 1,542 yards this season and 15 rushing touchdowns. He averaged 118.6 yards rushing per game and 6.2 yards per carry while catching 30 passes out of the backfield for 322 yards and three touchdowns. He compiled 1,864 all-purpose yards and 18 touchdowns this season.

Alabama senior Javier Arenas was a first-team All-SEC selection at two positions. He was selected at cornerback after recording 66 tackles, 12 tackles for loss, five sacks, four pass breakups and three interceptions this season.  He was also honored as a return specialist, where he accumulated more than 1,000 return yards and one touchdown this season. The Tampa, Fla., native is also the SEC's all-time leader with 1,733 career punt return yards, which leaves him 28 yards shy of Wes Welker's NCAA career punt return record.

The Crimson Tide's other first-team selections include senior offensive lineman Mike Johnson, senior nose guard Terrence Cody, sophomore safety Mark Barron and senior kicker Leigh Tiffin

Johnson led a rebuilt offensive line that helped clear a path for 215.9 rushing yards per game and 413.77 yards of total offense while surrendering just 1.15 sacks per game to rank 19th nationally. Tiffin is the school's career leader in scoring and field goals. He also holds the UA single-season record with 29 field goals this season. Cody had 25 tackles and six tackles for loss and played a key role in the Tide's run defense this season. He also tied an Alabama record with two blocked kicks in the win over Tennessee.  Barron was the Tide's second-leading tackler with 70 total stops this season. He had a team-best 17 passes defended, including an SEC-leading seven interceptions.

Sophomore wide receiver Julio Jones was a second team All-SEC selection. Jones was the Tide's leading receiver with 42 catches for 573 yards and four touchdowns this season. 

The SEC individual award winners will be released on Wednesday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced on Thursday.