Countdown to Kickoff
Shula Headlines 2005 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners


Monday, December 05, 2005

Shula with Brodie Croyle

WACO, TEX. – Alabama’s Mike Shula, who led the Crimson Tide to a 9-2 record in his third season as the Crimson Tide’s head coach, was today named as the American Football Coaches Association's 2005 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year.

"What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves," AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. "The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis."

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's four divisions: I-A, I-AA, Division II (NCAA Division II and NAIA schools) and Division III. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The winners: Penn State's Joe Paterno has earned Division I-A Region 3 honors this year, giving him a record 11th regional/district award in his 40th year as the Nittany Lion head coach. Penn State finished the regular season 10-1 and will meet Florida State in the Orange Bowl.

Bloomsburg's Danny Hale earned his eighth Regional Coach of the Year award in Division II Region I this year, the third-highest total in the history of the award.

Joining Paterno as winners in Division I-A are Miami's (Fla.) Larry Coker (Region 1), Alabama's Mike Shula (Region 2), Texas' Mack Brown (Region 4) and USC's Pete Carroll (Region 5).

In Division I-AA, the winners are New Hampshire's Sean McDonnell (Region 1); Appalachian State's Jerry Moore (Region 2); Eastern Illinois' Bob Spoo (Region 3); Youngstown State's Jon Heacock (Region 4) and Texas State's David Bailiff (Region 5).

Joining Hale as winners in Division II are Presbyterian's Tommy Spangler (Region 2); Washburn's Craig Schurig (Region 3), Morningside's Steve Ryan (Region 4) and Minnesota-Duluth's Kyle Schweigert (Region 5).

In Division III, the winners are Trinity's (Conn.) Chuck Priore (Region 1); Thiel's Jack Leipheimer (Region 2); Mary Hardin-Baylor's Pete Fredenburg (Region 3);  Capital's Jim Collins (Region 4) and Wisconsin-Whitewater's Bob Berezowitz (Region 5).

The 2005 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2006 AFCA Convention in Dallas. The dinner is scheduled for January 10.