Countdown to Kickoff
Alabama Well Represented on Phil Steele All-SEC Squad



Dec. 3, 2010

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - Alabama had 14 players selected to Phil Steele's 2010 Postseason All-SEC Team, including four on the first team and three more on the second team, it was announced on Friday.

Wide receiver Julio Jones and right guard Barrett Jones were named to the first-team offense while defensive lineman Marcell Dareus and safety Mark Barron garnered first-team defensive honors.

Julio Jones produced the best season for a wide receiver in school history with 75 receptions for 1,084 yards and seven receiving touchdowns. He also rushed for 99 yards on six carries and one touchdown. Barrett Jones was the anchor of the Crimson Tide offensive front. The sophomore helped the Tide average 435.6 yards per game on offense and 6.86 yards per play, which was the second-best mark in school history.

Barron was Alabama's unquestioned leader in the secondary with a team-high 75 tackles. He did a little of everything for the Tide defense with three tackles for loss, two sacks while intercepting three passes, breaking up six passes and forcing a fumble. Dareus required double teams on almost every play from opposing offenses while tallying 31 tackles, nine tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks, four pass breakups and seven quarterback hurries in just 10 games.

The 2009 Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram headlined the second team along with left tackle James Carpenter and free safety Robert Lester.

Ingram, who missed the first two games of the season after knee surgery, has averaged 81.6 yards per game while leading the team with 11 rushing touchdowns and catching 20 passes out of the backfield for 252 yards and a score. He is within one score of tying UA's career rushing touchdown record of 41 by Shaun Alexander. Carpenter protected the blindside of quarterback Greg McElroy and proved to be a devastating run blocker after starting each game of the past two seasons. Lester leads the SEC with seven interceptions while ranking second nationally with .58 per game. He has also 47 tackles on the year with a sack, three pass breakups and two quarterback hurries.

Steele's third team included center William Vlachos, linebacker Dont'a Hightower and kickoff returner Trent Richardson.

Richardson is 31st nationally in kickoff returns and fourth in the SEC, averaging 26.78 yards per return. He took one kickoff back for a touchdown and ranks 18th nationally in all-purpose yards with 152.8 per game. Hightower is second on the team in tackles with 67 while recording 3.5 tackles for loss, three pass deflections and a team-high eight quarterback hurries. Vlachos, a candidate for the Remington Trophy that goes to the nation's top center, has helped the Tide average 175.3 rushing yards per game while calling signals for the offensive line.

Marquis Maze was named to the fourth team as a punt returner along with Josh Chapman on the defensive line, Courtney Upshaw at linebacker and Dre Kirkpatrick at cornerback.