Countdown to Kickoff
Tide Football Holds Annual Banquet



The University of Alabama football team, who accepted a bid for its NCAA record 55th bowl appearance, held its 2007 team banquet in the Bryant Conference Center in Tuscaloosa on Sunday, Dec. 2.

The team handed out a variety of awards at the event, which was emceed by the Voice of the Crimson Tide, Eli Gold. Former All-American defensive back Jeremiah Castille opened and closed the event with a blessing and head coach Nick Saban addressed the crowd of team members, coaching staff, administration and support staff following the awards session. Saban recapped the 2007 regular season and outlined his team’s goals for the upcoming PetroSun Independence Bowl game against Colorado.

Alabama also named its permanent team captains for the 2007 season. The Tide voted senior Darren Mustin and juniors Rashad Johnson and Antoine Caldwell as its team captains.

The complete list of award winners is as follows:

Unsung Hero Award
Winners: Forress Rayford and Mike Johnson

Outstanding Senior Scholar Award
Winner: Matt Collins

Academic Excellence Award
Winners: Javier Arenas, Terry Grant, Rolando McClain and Evan Cardwell

Iron Man Award
Winners: Marcus Carter and Greg McElroy

Most Inspirational Player Award
Winner: Darren Mustin

Pat Trammel Award
Winners: Keith Saunders and Matt Caddell

Outstanding Defensive Performer
Winners: Wallace Gilberry and Darren Mustin

Up-Front Award
Winners: Wallace Gilberry and Andre Smith

Defensive Achievement Award
Winners: Ezekial Knight and Kareem Jackson

Offensive Achievement Award
Winners: Terry Grant and John Parker Wilson

President’s Award
Winners: Simeon Castille, Justin Britt and Travis McCall

Special Teams Player of the Year
Winners: Javier Arenas and Jimmy Johns

Offensive Player of the Year
Winners: Andre Smith and DJ Hall

Defensive Player of the Year
Winners: Rashad Johnson and Wallace Gilberry

Team Captains:
Antoine Caldwell, Rashad Johnson and Darren Mustin