Countdown to Kickoff
Antoine Caldwell Named SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week



Dec. 1, 2008

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – University of Alabama senior center Antoine Caldwell was named the Southeastern Conference Offensive Lineman of the Week, the league office announced today.

Caldwell, one of nine scholarship seniors on the 2009 Alabama football team, led the Crimson Tide to a 36-0 win over arch-rival Auburn in his final game at Bryant-Denny Stadium on Saturday.

Caldwell directed an Alabama offensive line that helped account for 412 total offensive yards, including 234 rushing yards, in the Tide’s 36-0 win against Auburn. In the game, he did not allow a sack or QB pressure and did not get called for any penalties. Alabama averaged 6.1 yards per play and totaled 21 first downs with a time of possession of 35:37. The Tide ranks second in the SEC in both rushing offense  (201.5) and scoring offense (32.1).

Alabama has had at least one SEC Player of the Week winner after all 12 regular season games this season.  Freshman receiver Julio Jones leads all UA players with three SEC Freshman of the Week awards, following wins over Western Kentucky, Tennessee and LSU.  Junior return specialist Javier Arenas is a two-time SEC Special Teams Player of the Week winner after victories over Tulane and Mississippi State.  Junior left guard Mike Johnson was also honored twice after wins over Clemson and Mississippi.

The complete week-by-week breakdown of Alabama’s SEC Player of the Week winners includes:

Clemson          Mike Johnson (Offensive Lineman) and Terrence Cody (Defensive Lineman)
Tulane             Javier Arenas (Special Teams)
W. Kentucky     Julio Jones (Freshman)
Arkansas          Andre Smith (Offensive Lineman)
Georgia            John Parker Wilson (Offense)
Kentucky           Bobby Greenwood (Defensive Lineman)
Mississippi         Mike Johnson (Offensive Lineman)
Tennessee        Julio Jones (Freshman)
Arkansas State  Mark Ingram (Freshman)
LSU                  Rashad Johnson (Defense) and Julio Jones (Freshman)
Mississippi State Javier Arenas (Special Teams)
Auburn              Antoine Caldwell (Offense)