Countdown to Kickoff
Alabama Football: Offensive Notebook



Nov. 25, 2008

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - The Alabama offense has been led this season by junior Lombardi and Outland Trophy finalist Anrde Smith, senior record-setting quarterback John Parker Wilson, junior Glen Coffee and freshman record holders Julio Jones and Mark Ingram. Read about the Alabama offense each Tuesday on

Andre Smith A FINALIST FOR THE LOMBARDI AND OUTLAND: Alabama left tackle Andre Smith is the only player in college football to be named a finalist for both the Lombardi Award and Outland Trophy.  Smith is one of four finalists for the 39th Rotary Lombardi Award, which goes to the nation's top lineman or linebacker. The junior from Birmingham, Ala., anchors a powerful offensive line that has been a key to the Crimson Tide's success in 2008. Smith has surrendered just one sack all season and only seven in his 36-game Alabama career. Smith has also helped clear the way for 198.5 rushing yards per game this season, which ranks 23rd nationally. Smith is the only junior and the only offensive player selected as a finalist. Joining Smith on the list of finalists is Ohio State linebacker Ray Laurinaitis, Texas defensive end Brian Orakpo and USC linebacker Rey Maualuga. Smith is the sixth Crimson Tide player to be named a finalist for the Rotary Lombardi Award and the first since DeMeco Ryans in 2005. Cornelius Bennett is the only Alabama player to win the Lombardi Award, capturing the honor in 1986.  Smith is joined by Mississippi's Michael Oher and Oklahoma's Duke Robinson as finalists for the Outland Trophy.  Smith is looking to become the Crimson Tide's second Outland Trophy winner. Former Tide All-American Chris Samuels captured the 1999 Outland Trophy. The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946. It is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. The Outland Trophy is the third-oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and the Maxwell Award.

COFFEE ECLIPSES 1,000 RUSHING YARDS FOR THE SEASON:  Junior running back Glen Coffee moved past the 1,000-yard total for rushing yards for the season in the 10th game of the year against LSU. He now has 1,091 yards on 179 carries. The performance marks only the 13th time - by nine players - in Alabama football history that a running back has rushed for more than 1,000 yards in a season, the first time since Kenneth Darby rushed for 1,242 yards in 2005. Coffee eclipsed the 100-yard barrier against the Tigers, marking the third time he has done so this season and the fourth such performance of his Alabama career. Coffee is 17th on the school's all-time rushing list with 1,815 yards on 356 carries with 12 touchdowns.

COFFEE A DOAK WALKER SEMIFINALIST: Alabama running back Glen Coffee was named a semifinalist for the 2008 Doak Walker Award by the Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors. He is one of 10 semifinalists for the Doak Walker, which goes to the nation's top running. Coffee has rushed for 1,091 yards in the first 11 games of the 2008 season to lead the top-ranked Crimson Tide. It marks only the 13th time - by nine players - in Alabama football history that a running back has rushed for more than 1,000 yards in a season. Coffee ranks fourth in the SEC and 27th nationally at 99.2 yards per game while leading the conference in yards per rush at 6.1. The 162 members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2008 finalists. Three finalists will be named on Nov. 24 and a second vote by the Doak Walker Award national Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2008 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11, in Orlando, Fla.

Julio Jones AT HIS BEST AGAINST THE BEST: Alabama true freshman wide receiver Julio Jones has quickly made a name for himself throughout the Southeastern Conference and across the country. Not only does the 6-foot, 4-inch, 210-pound wide out lead the Crimson Tide with 43 catches for 687 yards and four touchdowns, but he has played his best against Alabama's toughest competition and in the toughest environments. Against ranked teams Clemson, Georgia and LSU the Foley, Ala., native has caught 16 passes for 250 yards and two touchdowns. His seven-catch, 128-yard performance at LSU was key in the Tide's 27-21 overtime win in Death Valley. His play has also been impressive on the road in tough environments with 23 catches for 378 yards and two touchdowns away from Bryant-Denny Stadium. Both of his 100-yard receiving games came on the road with 103 yards on six catches at Tennessee and then at LSU.

John Parker Wilson A FINALIST FOR THE UNITAS: Alabama senior quarterback John Parker Wilson was selected as one of five finalists for the 2008 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. The prestigious Golden Arm Award is presented annually to the nation's top senior quarterback by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica. The list of five finalists for the 2008 Golden Arm Award is: Wilson, Chase Daniel (Missouri); Graham Harrell (Texas Tech); Brian Johnson (Utah); Pat White (West Virginia). Wilson is the Crimson Tide's season and career leader in completions, passing yards, passing touchdowns and attempts. The Hoover, Ala., native has passed for 1,775 yards while completing 59.1 percent of his passes with eight touchdowns this season. The 2008 winner will be presented with the Golden Arm Award at the Tremont Grand Meeting & Banquet Facility in downtown Baltimore, Md., on Dec. 5.

MCCALL, WALKER PLAY 50TH GAME: A pair of Alabama seniors will play their 50th all-time game when the Crimson Tide hosts Auburn on Saturday, Nov. 29. Senior tight ends Travis McCall and Nick Walker will both play their 50th game for the Crimson Tide and become the 13th and 14th players in school history to see action in 50 games. Former fullback Tarrant Lynch (1990-94) holds the Alabama record with 52 career games, which included a fifth year of eligibility due to a medical hardship. Former offensive lineman Matt Hammond (1990-93) and linebacker Lemanski Hall (1990-93) are second on the list with 51 games played.

Rank     Player (Years)                            Games
 1.       Tarrant Lynch (1990-94)         52
 2.       Matt Hammond (1990-93)      51
           Lemanski Hall (1990-93)       51
 4.       Anthony Bryant (2001-04)      50
           Evan Mathis (2001-04)          50
           Mark Anderson (2002-05)      50
           Anthony Madison (2002-05)   50
           Freddie Roach (2002-05)       50
           DeMeco Ryans (2002-05)       50
           Ramzee Robinson (2003-06) 50
           Matt Caddell (2004-07)         50
           Wallace Gilberry (2004-07)    50
---------------------------------------------------------------- ---------
           Travis McCall (2005-08)        49
           Nick Walker (2005-08)          49
           Bobby Greenwood (2005-08) 48
           Rashad Johnson (2005-08)   47