Countdown to Kickoff
Ryans Named Finalist for Butkus Award


Thursday, November 10, 2005

Alabama senior linebacker DeMeco Ryans has been named a finalist for the 2005 Butkus Award.

The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO), the organization which annually presents the prestigious Butkus Award to the nation's best collegiate linebacker has announced the three finalists for this year's award.  In alphabetical order, the 2005 Butkus Award finalists are A.J. Hawk (Ohio State), Paul Posluszny (Penn State) and DeMeco Ryans (Alabama).

Ryans currently leads the team in tackles with 59. He ranks second on the team in tackles for a loss with 9.0 (-45). He's also recorded 3.5 sacks (-31), two pass breakups, two quarterback pressures, two forced fumbles, a fumble recovery and an interception.

Each represented school has had one Butkus Award winner in the award's history.  The list of past Butkus Award winners representing the 2005 finalist's schools include: LaVar Arrington (Penn State-1999); Andy Katzenmoyer (Ohio State-1997) and the late Derrick Thomas (Alabama-1988).

The 2005 Butkus Award winner will be announced Saturday, December 10, 2005 at the Butkus Award Gala at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Resort in Orlando, FL.  The Butkus Award will be presented to the winner by the award's namesake former University of Illinois and Chicago Bear NFL Hall of Fame member, Dick Butkus.