Countdown to Kickoff
Brian Bostick Named Semi-Finalist for Lou Groza Award


Monday, November 08, 2004

Brian Bostick

PALM BEACH, Fla. -- University of Alabama senior place kicker Brian Bostick (Cullman, Ala.) is one of the 20 seminfinalists for the 2004 Lou Groza Award, according to an announcement by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.
The Lou Groza Award, presented by the 2005 FedEx Orange Bowl National Championship committee, is awarded annually to best place kicker in college football.
Other semifinalists include Jeff Babcock (Colorado State), Travis Bell (Georgia Tech), Mason Crosby (Colorado), Stephen Gostowski (Memphis), Tyler Jones (Boise State), Darren McCaleb (Southern Miss), Justin Medlock (UCLA), Mike Nugent (Ohio State), Matt Nuzie (Connecticut), Brandon Pace (Virginia Tech), Matt Payne (BYU), Todd Pegram (Texas A&M), Dave Rayner (Michigan State), Joe Rheem (Kansas State), Reagan Schnieder (UTEP), Alexis Serna (Oregon State), Colby Smith (Middle Tennessee), Shaun Suisham (Bowling Green) and Andrew Wellock (Eastern Michigan).
In nine games this season, Bostick is 13-of-16 in field goals, second in the SEC in field goals per game and field goal percentage, and he has hit all 31 of his PAT attempts.  He is second among SEC kickers in league in scoring with 7.2 points per game, which ranks him fourth among all players this year.
Bostick has made 44 of his 47 total kicks (.936) this season and leads the Crimson Tide with 65 points through nine games.
He connected on 3-of-3 field goals and made all three of his PAT attempts as Alabama defeated Mississippi State, 30-14.  The three made field goals matched his career high for the Crimson Tide. 
Perhaps his most significant kick was a 47-yard field goal that gave Alabama a 23-14 lead midway through the fourth quarter.  The 47-yard field goal matched his season high set two weeks earlier against Tennessee.  He also made a 34-yard field goal midway through the third quarter which put Alabama ahead 20-14.  His first field goal of the game was a 24-yarder early in the second quarter, cutting the Mississippi State lead to 7-3.
Bostick finished the game with 12 points, missing his career high for points in a game by one point.  For his efforts against Miss. State, he was named the SEC Special Teams Player of Week.
The voters for the Lou Groza Award are comprised of all Division I head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters from across the country, conference officials, various NFL kickers and all previous Lou Groza Award finalists.
The three finalists for the Lou Groza Award will be announced on Monday November 22nd.  Finalists will be honored at the 13th Annual Lou Groza Award Banquet on Tuesday December 7th at the West Palm Beach Marriott in West Palm Beach, FL. 
The award, now in its 13th year, is named for NFL Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns.  Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954.  Nicknamed "The Toe," Groza was one of the first people to truly make kicking an art form, and he helped usher in to football the idea that a player could be used exclusively for kicking.
The Lou Groza Award is sponsored by AIM Riverside Press, BankAtlantic, The Breakers, Clipper Corporate Apparel, Continental Airlines, ESPN Radio 760, ESPN Regional Television, Florida Atlantic University Athletics.