Countdown to Kickoff
John Parker Wilson Named Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM John Parker Wilson was one of 13 quarterbacks selected as semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award.
John Parker Wilson was one of 13 quarterbacks selected as semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award.

Oct. 27, 2008

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – University of Alabama quarterback John Parker Wilson was among 13 Football Bowl Subdivision quarterbacks selected as semifinalists for the 2008 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award the Davey O’Brien Foundation and its national selection committee announced on Monday.

“This is a great honor, but one that I would not be receiving if it wasn’t for the play of my offensive line and really our entire team,” Wilson said. “The quarterback play across the country has been outstanding this year and I am excited to be listed among this group of quarterbacks.

“Our offensive line has provided plenty of time to throw the football and our receivers and tight ends have caught almost everything thrown their way. The running game has also been a key component that has allowed us to have a balanced offensive attack.”

Wilson, a native of Hoover, Ala., has guided the Crimson Tide to an 8-0 record and No. 2 national ranking in his senior campaign. He has completed 61.9 percent of his passes for 1,260 yards and eight touchdowns. Wilson has thrown just three interceptions and has added two rushing touchdowns this season. He ranks fourth in the Southeastern Conference in passing efficiency with a 133.66 rating.

Wilson is Alabama’s career leader in passing yards (6,911), completions (587), touchdowns (45) and attempts (1,028). He also holds the single-season record in all four of those categories. Wilson is one of three Southeastern Conference quarterbacks listed among the 13 semifinalist. He is joined by Georgia’s Matthew Stafford and Florida’s Tim Tebow.

The Davey O'Brien Award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. The O’Brien Selection Committee is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners as well as fans across the country with the top three quarterbacks from the O’Brien Fan Vote being added to the list. Fans are able to vote for semifinalist candidates once daily at The voting will continue throughout the semifinalist and finalist rounds with five percent of the final tally coming directly from the fan vote.

The finalist will be selected on Nov. 24 and the 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored Feb. 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2008 O'Brien Watch List:

  • Sam Bradford SO Oklahoma
  • Daryll Clark JR Penn State
  • Chase Daniel SR Missouri
  • Max Hall JR BYU
  • Graham Harrell SR Texas Tech
  • David Johnson SR Tulsa
  • Colt McCoy JR Texas
  • Todd Reesing JR Kansas
  • Zac Robinson JR Oklahoma State
  • Mark Sanchez JR USC
  • Matthew Stafford JR Georgia
  • Tim Tebow JR Florida
  • John Parker Wilson SR Alabama

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation had given away over $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit