Countdown to Kickoff
Rolando McClain Named Lott Trophy IMPACT Player of the Week



Oct. 19, 2009

Rolando McClain Game-By-Game Stats Get Acrobat Reader

TUSCALOOSA, Ala – Alabama junior linebacker Rolando McClain has been named the Lott Trophy IMPACT Player of the Week. Alabama will receive $1,000 for its general scholarship fund in recognition of McClain’s accomplishment.

The Decatur, Ala., native had seven tackles, two quarterback pressures, one tackle for loss (-2 yards) and one pass breakup as the Tide held No. 22 South Carolina without a touchdown in a 20-6 win.

“This guy shows up every single Saturday,” said Pat Dye, a member of the Legends Coaches who selected the Player of the Week.  “He is the best defensive player I have seen this year.  No, make that the best defensive player I’ve seen in many years.”

McClain anchors an Alabama defense that leads the nation in total defense (226.57 yards per game) and pass efficiency defense (83.82 rating).  The Crimson Tide leads the SEC in rushing defense (62.39 yards per game) and is second in the league in scoring defense (8.67 points per game).

For the season, McClain leads Alabama with 49 tackles, including 32 solo stops.  He has also added seven quarterback pressures, 6.5 tackles for loss (-28 yards), two sacks (-19 yards), two interceptions (21 return yards), one pass break-up and one forced fumble.

An All-SEC selection last season as a sophomore, McClain has also made it on the SEC Academic Honor Roll. He was a preseason first team All-American this year and is a Butkus semifinalist for the second straight season.  Earlier this year, McClain was named the Bronko Nagurski Player of the Week after his 12-tackle performance at Kentucky on Oct. 3.

Named after NFL Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its sixth year, the Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. Alabama’s DeMeco Ryans won the award in 2005.