Countdown to Kickoff
Alabama Coaches Tab Seven for Honors in Win Over Ole Miss



TUSCALOOSA, Ala. ?? The University of Alabama football coaching staff has selected seven individuals as the Tide’s Players of the Game for their efforts in Alabama’s 27-24 win over Ole Miss in Oxford last Saturday. Alabama moved to 5-2 on the season and is in a three-way tie for the lead in the Southeastern Conference Western division with the victory.

On offense, junior quarterback John Parker Wilson received the honor after one of his best outings of the season. Wilson threw for 265 yards in the game, completing 26 of his 40 attempts. He led the Tide to scores on each of its first three possessions in the game, with all three drives covering more than 61 yards.

Wilson’s favorite target against the Rebels was senior wide receiver DJ Hall, who shared offensive player of the week honors. Hall tallied 11 catches for 140 yards on the afternoon, marking the fourth time in his career that the record-setting receiver recorded 10 or more receptions in a game.

The Tide’s safety duo of Rashad Johnson and Marcus Carter shared defensive player of the week accolades for their performances in the Alabama secondary. Johnson shared the team lead in tackles with nine on the day and picked off his fourth pass of the season in the game, tying him for the SEC lead in interceptions. Johnson also added a sack in the Tide’s win. Carter had six tackles and helped the defense hold Ole Miss scoreless in the fourth quarter to preserve the UA victory.

Special teams honors were shared by three players. Javier Arenas, the Tide’s sophomore return man, had one of the best games of his career against Ole Miss. Arenas had 164 return yards in the game, including a 54-yard punt return that set up the Tide’s game-tying touchdown in the fourth quarter. Demarcus Waldrop and Charlie Higgenbotham also received the nod after Higgenbotham recorded two tackles and Waldrop added one on special teams units.

The Tide hosts No. 20 Tennessee in Bryant-Denny Stadium on Saturday in the annual “Third Saturday in October” contest.