Countdown to Kickoff



Sept. 16, 2008

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - Test your Crimson Tide football knowledge each Tuesday on

What two future Dallas Cowboy greats and College Football Hall of Famers played against one another in the Jan. 1, 1962 Sugar Bowl?

Alabama defeated Arkansas 10-3 in the Jan. 1, 1962 Sugar Bowl at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans.  The game featured two future NFL greats in Lee Roy Jordan (Alabama) and Lance Allworth (Arkansas).  The two were teammates in Dallas in 1971 and 1972 and helped the Cowboys to a 24-3 win over the Miami Dolphins in Super Bowl VI.  Jordan was drafted by the Cowboys in 1963. He became the franchise's all-time leader in solo tackles (743) in his 14 seasons with the Cowboys. He was a two-time All-Pro and a five-time Pro-Bowl selection. He also helped the Cowboys to three Super Bowls and five NFC Championship games.

Who are the only two Crimson Tide running backs to have two touchdown runs of 80 or more yards?

Calvin Culliver and Shaud Williams are the only two Crimson Tide running backs with multiple touchdown runs or 80 or more yards. 
Culliver recorded an 87-yard TD run in the Tide’s 77-6 win over Virginia Tech on Oct. 27,1973 in Tuscaloosa and then added an 84-yard TD run against Vanderbilt on Sept. 28, 1974 as the Tide posted a 23-10 win in Tuscaloosa. Williams had two 80-yard touchdown runs in his career and both came against Arkansas.  Williams’ scored on the first play of the game with an 8-yard TD run, leading Alabama to a 30-12 win in Fayetteville on Sept. 22, 2002. The  next year, Williams added another 80-yard run in the third quarter as the Crimson Tide built a 31-10 lead in game that eventually resulted in 34-31 double-overtime loss on Sept. 27, 2003 in Bryant-Denny Stadium.

What Alabama duo had 100 receiving yards against Arkansas in 1999?

Alabama receivers Jason McAddley (110 yards) and Freddie Milons (109 yards) combined for 219 receiving yards in Alabama’s 35-28 win over Arkansas in Tuscaloosa on Sept. 25, 1999.

Who is the only coach to serve as interim head coach at both Arkansas and Alabama?

Joe Kines served as interim head coach at both Arkansas and Alabama. Kines was the interim head coach at Arkansas for the final 10 games of the 1992 season. He also served as interim head coach at Alabama for the 2006 Independence Bowl against Oklahoma State. 

How many former Alabama football lettermen are from the state of Arkansas?

Alabama has had 28 former football lettermen from the state of Arkansas, including three former head coaches.  The most notable Arkansas native in Crimson Tide lore is Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, who is the school’s all-time winningest coach. Bryant, who hails from Fordyce, played at Alabama in 1933, 1934 and 1935 and was the head coach from 1958-82.  Two other former UA head coaches - Tilden “Happy” Campbell (baseball) and J.B. “Ears” Whitworth (football) were also from Arkansas.  The city of Blytheville has produced the most Alabama football lettermen, sending 10 players to the Capstone. 

The complete list of players from Arkansas includes Gene Blackwell (Blytheville, Ark, End, 1937-39), Paul Bryant (Fordyce, Ark., End, 1933-35), Jim Cain (Eudora, Ark., End, 1945-48), Herschel Caldwell (Blytheville, Ark., HB, 1925-26), Tilden “Happy” Campbell (Pine Bluff, Ark., QB, 1934-35), C.B. “Foots” Clements (Rower, Ark., T, 1928-30), Alvin “Pig” Davis (Green Forest, Ark., FB, 1937-38), Jim Dildy (Nashville, Ark., T, 1931-33), Joe Dildy (Nashville, Ark., C, 1933-34), Jess Eberdt (Blytheville, Ark., C, 1929-30), Calvin Frey (Arkadelphia, Ark., G, 1931-33), Willis Hewes (Russellville, Ark., C, 1931-32), Hal Hughes (Pine Bluff, Ark., QB, 1937-38), Howard Hughes ( Little Rock, Ark.,  T, 1941), Don Hutson (Pine Bluff, Ark., E, 1932-34), Foy Leach (Siloam Springs, Ark., E, 1931-33), Charles Marr (Pine Bluff, Ark., G, 1933-34), Herschel “Herky” Mosley (Blytheville, Ark., HB, 1937-39), Norman “Monk” Mosley (Blytheville, Ark., HB, 1942, 1946-47), Russ Mosley (Blytheville, Ark., HB, 1941-42), Gene Newberry (Blytheville, Ark., QB/TE, 1988), Billy Pierce (Crossett, Ark., DB, 1983-84), Kenny Reese (El Dorado, Ark., HB, 1942), James “Babs” Roberts ( Blytheville, Ark., E, 1940-42), Hayward “Sandy” Sanford (Adona, Ark., E/K, 1936-37), Jim Tipton (Blytheville, Ark., T, 1936-37), J.B. “Ears” Whitworth (Blytheville, Ark., E, 1930-31) and William A. Young ((Pine Bluff, Ark., T, 1936).