Countdown to Kickoff
Castille Among Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Candidates



The  University of Alabama was represented in one of the first preseason award watch lists, as senior defensive back Simeon Castille was included on the 2007 Jim Thorpe Award watch list, as released by the Jim Thorpe Association today.

Castille, a first team All-Southeastern Conference performer a season ago, led the Tide in interceptions with six in 2006. He also recovered a team-high three fumbles last year.

“I am honored to be included on this list, which includes some of the finest defensive players in the nation,” Castille said. “I am excited to open practice and get ready with my teammates for the upcoming season.”

The Thorpe Award, presented annually to the nation’s best college defensive back, is one of college football’s most sought after and prestigious awards.  It is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also starred as a defensive back.  Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as “The Legend”, Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The watch list is narrowed to 10 semi-finalists the first Monday in November and then to three finalists the Monday before Thanksgiving.  The winner is announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show, nationally telecast on December 6.  The official presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City on February 12.

 Jamar Adams ?? Sr. ?? Michigan
Josh Barrett ?? Sr. ?? Arizona State
Zackary Bowman ?? Sr. ?? Nebraska     
Tony Carter ?? Jr. ?? Florida State
Antoine Cason ?? Sr. ?? Arizona    
Simeon Castille ?? Sr. ?? Alabama
Quintin Demps ?? Sr. ?? UTEP      
Brandon Flowers ?? Jr. ?? Virginia Tech 
Courtney Greene ?? Jr. ?? Rutgers
Michael Hamlin ?? Jr. ?? Clemson   
Nic Harris ?? Jr. ?? Oklahoma
Victor Harris ?? Jr ?? Virginia Tech
Jonathan Hefney ?? Sr. ?? Tennessee
Chris Horton ?? Sr. ?? UCLA     
Malcolm Jenkins ?? Jr. ?? Ohio State
Tyrell Johnson ?? Sr. ?? Arkansas State 
Dennis Keyes ??Sr. ?? UCLA
Justin King ?? Jr. ?? Penn State        
Jamal Lewis ?? Sr. ?? Georgia Tech       
Dwight Lowery ?? Sr. ?? San Jose State 
Taylor Mays  ?? So. ?? USC 
Mike Mickens ?? Jr. ?? Cincinnati       
Paul Oliver ?? Sr. ?? Georgia
Derek Pegues ?? Jr. ?? Mississippi State       
Kenny Phillips ?? Jr. ?? Miami FL 
Myron Rolle ?? So. ?? Florida State
Reggie Smith ?? Jr. ?? Oklahoma       
Marty Tadman ?? Sr. ?? Boise State     
Aqib Talib ?? Jr. ?? Kansas    
Terrell Thomas ?? Sr. ?? USC      
DeJuan Tribble ?? Sr. ?? Boston College
Eric Wicks ?? Sr. ?? West Virginia   
Terrence Wheatley ?? Sr. ?? Colorado             
Trae Williams ?? Sr. ?? South Florida  
Tom Zbikowski ?? Sr. ?? Notre Dame    

The Jim Thorpe Award “watch list” is determined by analysis of the pre-season All-American teams listed in at least six pre-season college football annual magazines.  Four points are awarded for First Team, three points for second team, two points for third and one point for fourth teams and honorable mentions.  This procedure determines approximately 40 players on the pre-season watch list.  This list is not final and players whose performances merit recognition may be added as the season progresses.

 A “Screening Committee” of Jim Thorpe Association members follows the players throughout the season, watching games and researching information sources to grade Thorpe Award candidates on the basis of performance on the field, athletic ability and character. 

After cutting the list to three individuals, the names of the finalists are submitted to a national panel of about 50 sports writers, sportscasters, coaches and former players who vote to determine the winner.

The Crimson Tide opens its season on Sept. 1 with a home game against Western Carolina.