Countdown to Kickoff
Several Tide Players Named to Preseason Watch Lists



July 17, 2012

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - A total of 12 Crimson Tide football players have been selected to 11 of the 2012 preseason watch lists with several appearing on more than one list.

Both juniors AJ McCarron and Eddie Lacy were amongst those named to the Maxwell Award list, given annually to the nation's most outstanding collegiate football player. McCarron was also named to the Manning Award Watch List, which is presented to the top quarterback.

Alabama placed six on the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List, honoring the top lineman or linebacker, including seniors Nico Johnson, Barrett Jones, Chance Warmack and Jesse Williams and juniors D.J. Fluker and C.J. Mosley. Johnson and Mosley made the Butkus Award Watch List, given to the top linebacker, while Jones, Fluker, Warmack and Williams were all named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, which Jones won in 2011 as the nation's best interior lineman.

Senior Robert Lester was one of 35 named to the Jim Thorpe Award Watch List, recognizing the best defensive back, and is joined by Johnson, Mosley, Williams and junior Dee Milliner on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, presented annually to the nation's top defensive player.

Johnson, Lester, Mosley and Williams are also four of the preseason selections for another honor recognizing the top defensive player, the Bednarik Award.

Jones was one of the 51 centers across the nation named to the Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List, while senior Jeremy Shelley earned a spot on the Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award Watch List. The final member of the Tide to be honored in the preseason watch lists is senior Michael Williams, who is one of 33 honorees up for the John Mackey Award, given to the nation's most outstanding tight end.

2012 Preseason Watch Lists

Maxwell Award AJ McCarron Eddie Lacy

Manning Award AJ McCarron

Lombardi Award Barrett Jones D.J. Fluker Chance Warmack Nico Johnson C.J. Mosley Jesse Williams

Butkus Award Nico Johnson C.J. Mosley

Outland Trophy Barrett Jones D.J. Fluker Chance Warmack Jesse Williams

Jim Thorpe Award Robert Lester

Bronko Nagurski Trophy Nico Johnson C.J. Mosley Jesse Williams Dee Milliner Robert Lester

Bednarik Award Nico Johnson C.J. Mosley Jesse Williams Robert Lester

Rimington Trophy Barrett Jones

Lou Groza Award Jeremy Shelley

Mackey Award Michael Williams