Countdown to Kickoff
Football's 2002 Leadership Council Selected and Announced


Sunday, April 07, 2002

Jarrett Johnson

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. --- A total of 16 Alabama football players were selected Saturday to the 2002 Leadership Council of the Crimson Tide football team.

"This is a very prestigious honor," said Tide head coach Dennis Franchione, "the group is a little larger than normal, but I think that shows how much leadership we have on this team."      

Selected from the offense were senior split end Antonio Carter (Tallahassee, FL),  senior flanker Sam Collins (Fayette), senior center Alonzo Ephraim (Birmingham), senior tailback Ahmaad Galloway (Millington, TN), senior tight end Theo Sanders (Birmingham), sophomore guard Justin Smiley (Ellabell, GA) and senior quarterback Tyler Watts (Pelham).

From the defense were senior safety Waine Bacon (Fort Washington, MD), junior rover Brooks Daniels (Jasper, FL),  senior cornerback Gerald Dixon (Burtonsville, MD), senior tackle Jarret Johnson (Chiefland, FL), senior tackle Kenny King (Daphne), senior end Kindal Moorehead (Memphis, TN) and junior linebacker Cornelius Wortham (Calhoun City, MS).

The special teams were represented by senior punter Lane Bearden (Helena) and the walk-ons by junior safety Marc Miller (Gadsden).

The leadership Council provides positive leadership for the football team on and off the field of play.  It serves as a means of communication between the players and coaching staff on all issues that may develop and is proactive in facilitating the academic, social and athletic success of each individual on the team, but most importantly, to the team itself.