Countdown to Kickoff
Andre Smith Named to 2007 Outland Trophy Watch List



TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced its Outland Trophy preseason watch list on Tuesday with University of Alabama offensive tackle Andre Smith one of 41 players selected.  

Smith, a sophomore from Birmingham, Ala., is the only player of the 41 named to the watch list who is not a junior or a senior. He is coming off an outstanding freshman season in which he was named a Freshman All-American by and The Sporting News. He was also a Freshman All-SEC selection by the conference's 12 coaches and The Sporting News.

He started all 13 games at left tackle and led the team with 62 knockdowns during the regular season. He showed his agility when he scored his first collegiate touchdown on a two-yard run against Oklahoma State in the PetroSun Independence Bowl. Smith led all Alabama players with 871 snaps.

Smith was one of five players from the SEC and one of 15 offensive tackles from around the country selected to the preseason watch list for the award given annually to the nation's best interior lineman.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946. It is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century.

The 2007 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 6 in Orlando, Fla. on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Additional candidates for the award may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.   

Player, School Pos. Cl. Hometown
Jeff Akeroyd, Houston OT Sr. Lubbock, Texas
Sete Aulai, BYU C Sr. Carson, Calif.
Sam Baker, USC OT Sr. Tustin, Calif.
Kirk Barton, Ohio State OT Sr. Massillon, Ohio
Alex Boone, Ohio State OT Jr. Lakewood, Ohio
Ryan Clady, Boise State OT Jr. Rialto, Calif.
Robert Conley, Utah G Jr. LaMarque, Texas
Kyle Cunningham, Louisiana-Monroe OT Sr. Oklahoma City, Okla.
Dan Davis, Connecticut DT Sr. Planfield, N.J.
Glenn Dorsey, LSU DT Sr. Gonzales, La.
Franklin Dunbar, Middle Tennessee OT Jr. Waycross, Ga.
Ryan Durand, Syracuse G Jr. Leominster, Mass.
King Dunlap, Auburn OT Sr. Brentwood, Tenn.
Sedrick Ellis, USC DT Sr. Chino, Calif.
Andre Fluellen, Florida State DT Sr. Cartersville, Ga.
Eric Foster, Rutgers DT Sr. Homestead, Fla.
Adrian Grady, Louisville DT Jr. Nichollsville, Ga.
Dallas Griffin, Texas C Sr. Katy, Texas
Antron Harper, Navy C Sr. Eastman, Ga.
Robby Heos, Rice G Sr. Pearland, Texas
Matt Hines, Nevada DT Sr. Modesto, Calif.
Steve Justice, Wake Forest C Sr. Port Orange, Fla.
Adam Kraus, Michigan G Sr. New Orleans, La.
Doug Legursky, Marshall C Sr. Beckley, W.V.
Kory Lichtensteiger, Bowling Green C Sr. Van Wert, Ohio
Matty Lindner, TCU G Sr. Comfort, Texas
Derek Lokey, Texas DT Sr. Denton, Texas
Jake Long, Michigan OT Sr. Lapeer, Mich.
Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas C Jr. Little Rock, Ark.
Alex Mack, California C Jr. Santa Barbara, Calif.
Michael Oher, Ole Miss OT Jr. Memphis, Tenn.
Frank Okam, Texas DT Sr. Dallas, Texas
Barry Richardson, Clemson OT Sr. Mount Pleasant, S.C.
Matt Slauson, Nebraska OT Jr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
Andre Smith, Alabama OT So. Birmingham, Ala.
Pedro Sosa, Rutgers OT Sr. Union City, N.J.
John Sullivan, Notre Dame C Sr. Old Greenwich, Conn.
Cody Wallace, Texas A&M C Sr. Cuero, Texas
Ryan Wendell, Fresno State G Sr. Diamond Bar, Calif.
Eric Wood, Louisville C Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Jeremy Zuttah, Rutgers OT Sr. Edison, N.J.
Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration
Candidates may be added or removed during the season