Countdown to Kickoff
Rimington Trophy Releases 2006 Spring Watch List



Alabama sophomore center Antoine Caldwell (6-4, 294, Montgomery) was named today to The Dave Rimington Trophy watch list of top collegiate centers for the 2006 season.  This season marks the seventh year of the Rimington Trophy recognizing the most outstanding center in college football and the first as a Regular Member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).

Caldwell was a second-team Freshman All-America and a Freshman All-SEC pick by the league coaches last season as a 12-game starter.  He began the 2005 season at offensive guard, but moved to center for the 2006 AT&T Cotton Bowl game and played flawlessly.  He did not have a single center-quarterback exchange problem and the offensive line did not allow a single sack in that game.

The spring Rimington watch list consists of thirty-nine of college football's top men in the middle and will be updated once prior to the beginning of the season.  Five sophomores, eleven juniors and twenty-three seniors make up the very strong field.

"With only one returning finalist (Dan Mozes, West Virginia) from last season the competition will be wide open which will certainly make for an exciting race.  Center is a very difficult position to evaluate and of course play so I wish all of the candidates and their respective teams a successful season", said Dave Rimington.

The winner will be honored at the awards banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska, in January of 2007.

The 2006 Spring Rimington Trophy Watch List includes Pete Bier, Army; Mark Bihl, Michigan; Antoine Caldwell, Alabama; Aaron Danenhauer, Tulsa; Robby D’Angelo, Southern

Mississippi; Kyle DeVan, Oregon State; Sterling Doty, Houston; Robby Felix, UTEP, Mark Fenton, Colorado; Dustin Fry, Clemson; Cedric Gagne-Marcoux, Central Florida; Leroy Harris, North Carolina State; Tanner Jenkins, Arkansas State; Brandon Jones, Texas Tech; Nick Jones, Georgia, Ryan Kalil, Southern California; Jason Karcher, Wyoming; Adam Korby, Idaho; Robbie Krutilla, Western Michigan; Doug Legursky, Marshall; Kory Lichtensteiger, Bowling Green; Enoka Lucas, Oregon; Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas; Kurt Mann, Nebraska; Dan Mozes, West Virginia; Dave Ochoa, Kansas; James Rossi, Navy; Samson Satele, Hawaii; Lyle Sendlein, Texas; Stephen Schuh, Memphis; Adam Spieker, Missouri; Darnell Stapleton, Rutgers; Scott Stephenson, Iowa State; John Sullivan; Notre Dame; Cody Wallace, Texas; Chris White, South Carolina; Anthony Wollschlager, Miami; Eric Wood, Louisville and Kyle Young, Fresno State.