Countdown to Kickoff
A-Day Notes: Crimson 20, White 6


Galloway and Ephraim named the stars of the game
Saturday, April 13, 2002

Ahmaad Galloway
Ahmaad Galloway

  • A-Day Stats (PDF)
  • Alabama's captains from the 2001 season, Jarret Johnson, Terry Jones, Jr., Saleem Rasheed, Tyler Watts and Andrew Zow put their hand and shoe prints in cement in pre-game ceremonies today.  The Walk-of-Fame ceremonies have taken place since 1948.  Prior to today's A-Day game, the ceremony was held at Denny Chimes, but Tide coach Dennis Franchione wanted to include the entire team.
  • With 10:09 left in the second quarter, Ahmaad Galloway ran 16 yards for the first TD of the game.  Gabe Giardinia missed the first attempt, Alex Fox made his attempt and when Michael Ziifle attempted his, holder Lane Bearden was credited with a rush.  After all of that, no points were awarded after the touchdown.  On the Crimson's second TD, all three PATs were made to give the Crimson team a 13-0 halftime lead.
  • At halftime, senior tailback Ahmaad Galloway led all rushers with 90 yards and one TD for the Crimson team.  He had another 35 yards on two receptions.  Junior Santonio Beard had 36 yards rushing to lead the White team.
  • The White team's Thurman Ward played both offense (wide receiver) and defense (cornerback) on defense.  He was switched to wider receiver the second half of spring practice.
  • Senior tailback Ahmaad Galloway of the Crimson team, was a near unanimous winner of the Dixie Howell Memorial Award as outstanding player in the A-Day game.  The award is voted by the media
    Crimson center: Alonzo Ephraim was winner of the Dwight Stephenson lineman MVP in today's game.