Countdown to Kickoff
A-Day Captains Conduct Draft to Determine Teams


Wednesday, April 10, 2002

Tyler Watts
Tyler Watts

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. -- The respective captains for the Crimson and White teams in Alabama's A-Day game held their player draft Wednesday.  Kickoff for the game will be 2:30 p.m. Saturday in Bryant-Denny Stadium.

"It was fun," quipped White team captain Antonio Carter, "and I think our captains (Theo Sanders, Gerald Dixon, Waine Bacon and Carter) did a pretty good job.  I'm looking forward to eating steak after we win the game."

The 63-minute draft was held in the staff conference room in the Football Building and commissioner (head coach) Dennis Franchione made sure everyone followed the draft rules.  Each team had one minute to make selections and the Crimson Team was penalized its 35th pick when it didn't select quickly enough.

"Actually, we just passed," said Crimson captain Ahmaad Galloway, "we needed the time to discuss the next selection."

The White team had the first selection and opted for quarterback Brodie Croyle.  The Crimson team, with captains Brooks Daniels, Tyler Watts, Kenny King and Galloway, responded by picking center Alonzo Ephraim.

The first picks for the Crimson team were Ephraim, offensive guard Marico Portis, nosetackle Anthony Bryant, cornerback Charlie Peprah and linebacker Cornelius Wortham.

The White team's picks were Croyle, offensive tackle Dante Ellington, defensive end Antwan Odom, tailback Santonio Beard and cornerback Anthony Madison.

Following the draft, teams had until 5:30 pm to make trades and then the Tide coaching staff gathered to "make sure the teams were even," said Franchione.

"I really think the players enjoyed the draft and there were some interesting exchanges and strategy going on.  It is always interesting to see the players' prospective on their teammates."

There were several trades and other changes, including Madison moving from the White team to the Crimson.

Coaches for the White team will be Carl Torbush, Chris Thurmond, Rick LaFavers, Kenith Pope, Mark Tommerdahl and Joe Dan Rogers.

The Crimson team will be coached by Les Koenning, Jr., Lee Fobbs, Jim Bob Helduser, Stan Eggen, Melvin Smith, Woodrow Lowe, Jr., and Paul Hogan.

Franchione noted that a number of players would not participate in Saturday's game due to injury, including Jarret Johnson, Sam Collins, Todd Bates, Kindal Moorehead, Hirchel Bolden, Donnie Lowe, David Cavan and Micky O'Rear, although Collins will hold on PATs and field goals for the White team.