Countdown to Kickoff
A-Day Notes



2007 University of Alabama A-Day Football Game
Bryant-Denny Stadium
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
April 21, 2007

Crimson vs. White


The 2007 A-Day Game drew in excess of 92,138 fans, with fans being turned away at the gate

The Crimson Tide’s 2007 A-Day attendance mark of over 92,138 fans is well over the previous best for a Southeastern Conference Spring Day game which is believed to be Tennessee’s 73,000 in 1986. It also nearly doubles this season’s previous best set by Florida at 47,500.

The Tide’s 2007 A-Day attendance mark bettered the previous Bryant-Denny Stadium A-Day record of 46,700 set in 1994. The previous Alabama A-Day record was 51,117 set April 9, 1988 in Birmingham, Ala.’s Legion Field.

By halftime the United Way of West Alabama had collected approximately $38,000 for the Enterprise Tornado Relief Fund. A finals count on the funds raised in conjunction with today’s A-Day Game will be announced next week.

Alabama’s annual Spring Awards, determined by the coaching staff, were announced on the field after the game. Those awards are as follows:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award - Zeke Knight
The Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice Award - Jimmy Johns
The Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award - Keith Saunders
The Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award - Rashad Johnson
The Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award - Andre Smith
The Ray Perkins Receiver Award - D.J. Hall
The Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award - John Parker Wilson
The Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award - Prince Hall
The Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award - Terry Grant and Kareem Jackson
The Paul “Bear” Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Player Award - Darren Mustin
The Derrick Thomas Community Service Award - Baron Huber and Byron Walton
The Mal Moore Leadership Award - Antoine Caldwell and Simeon Castille
The Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award - Brian Motley and Mike Johnson
The Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award - Bobby Greenwood and Travis McCall

In addition to the honors determined by the coaching staff, there are two A-Day Awards that are voted on by the media:

The Dwight Stephenson Award which recognizes A-Day’s Most Valuable Lineman -   Antoine Caldwell
The Dixie Howell Memorial Award, which - the Most Valuable Player ?? D.J. Hall



    Alabama Sale