Countdown to Kickoff
Simpson Named to Lott Trophy Watch List



NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. - Alabama's Juwan  Simpson is one of the 42 top defensive players in the nation who have been named  to the 2006 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced  today.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now  in its third year, The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to  equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of  the player. 

Simpson had 64 tackles and two interceptions last season for The Tide.  

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award  is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during  his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community  and Tenacity. 

David Pollack of Georgia and DeMeco Ryans of Alabama were the winners of the first two Lott Trophies.  Both Georgia and Alabama received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.  In  two years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $170,000 to various  charities, in addition to the two universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the  national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club  IMPACT Foundation and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head  college coaches. 

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at  The Pacific Club Dec. 10.

2006 Lott Trophy Watch  List

Rufus Alexander, Sr., LB, Oklahoma, 6-1,  231

Dwayne Andrews, Sr., LB, Fresno State, 6-0,  240

Patrick Bailey, Sr., LB,  Duke, 6-4, 230

Daniel Bazuin, Sr., DE, Central  Michigan, 6-3, 257   

Tommy  Blake, Sr., DE, TCU, 6-3, 250

H.B. Blades, Sr., LB, Pitt,  6-0, 240

Mkistro Bruce, Sr., DL, Washington State, 6-6,  255

Rob Caldwell, Sr., LB, Navy,  6-0, 222                                       

Caleb Campbell, Jr., DB,  Army, 6-2, 223

Adam Carriker, Sr., DL, Nebraska, 6-6, 280                     

Tim Crowder, Sr., DE, Texas, 6-4,  270

Joe Garcia, Sr., DB, Nevada, 6-0,  182

Michael Griffin, Sr., S, Texas, 6-0,  205

Korey Hall, Sr., LB, Boise State, 6-1,  228

Leon Hall, CB, Sr., Michigan, 5-11,  194

Vince Hall, Jr., LB, Virginia  Tech, 6-0, 236

Marcus Hamilton, Sr., CB, Virginia, 5-11,  187

Justin Harrell, DT, Tennessee, 6-4,  306

Nate Harris, Sr., LB, Louisville, 6-1,  232

Jay Henry, Sr., LB, West  Virginia, 6-2, 225                      

Will Herring, Sr., LB, Auburn, 6-3,  220

Daymeion Hughes, Sr., CB, Cal, 6-2,  185

Kenny Iwebema, Sr., DE, Iowa, 6-4,  255

Lawrence Jackson, DE, USC, 6-5,  265

Kyle Kinsell, DE, Davidson,  6-0, 235

LaRon Landry, Sr. S, LSU,  6-2, 204                                  

Larry  McSwain, Sr., DL, UAB, 6-3, 255

Brandon  Meriweather, Sr, S, Miami,  6-0, 188

Will Meyers, Sr. DB, Indiana, 5-11, 201

Quentin Moses, Sr., DE, Georgia, 6-5, 255                        

Matt Muncy, Sr., LB, Ohio, 6-2,  234

Jesse Nading, Jr., DE, Colorado State, 6-5,  252

Eli Nichols, Sr., DL, Duke,  6-4, 260

Sam Olajubutu, Sr., LB, Arkansas, 5-9,  227

Paul Posluszny, Sr., LB, 6-2,  230, Penn State

Roderick Rogers, Sr., DB, Wisconsin, 6-2,  181

Brandon Siler, Jr., LB, Florida, 6-2,  239

Juwan Simpson, Sr., LB, Alabama, 6-3,  222

Justin Warren, Sr., LB, Texas A&M, 6-3,  237

Eric Weddle, Sr., S, Utah, 6-0,  200

Patrick Willis, Sr., LB, Mississippi, 6-2,  240

Tom Zbikowski, Sr, S, Notre  Dame, 6-0, 208