1979 Schedule & Results

Recaps PDF | Roster PDF | Statistics PDF | Superlatives PDF

1979 National Champions
Record: 12-0-0
Head Coach: Paul "Bear" Bryant
Assistant Coach: Ken Donahue, Sylvester Croom, K.J. Lazenby, Bobby Marks, Mal Moore, Bill Oliver, Bryant Pool, Dee Powell, Jeff Rouzie, Jack Rutledge, George "Shorty" White, Perry Willis.
Team Captains: Don McNeal, Steve Whitman

Selectors: AP, Berryman, Billingsley, DeVoid, Dunkel, FACT, Football News, Football Writers, Helms, Mathews, National Championship Foundation, National Football Foundation, New York Times, Poling, Sagarin, Sporting News, United Press International.

Consensus National Champions


Front Row: Holt, Umphrey, Pugh, Jacobs, McElroy, Sprinkle, Harris, Shealy, Coley, Landrum, Gray, Wilcox, Reeves, Tucker, Castille, Simon. Second Row: Haney, Perrin, J. Jones, Spencer, McNeal, Orcutt, White, Jackson, Blue, Fagan, Rozzell, Collins, Williams, Junior, Ferguson, M. Ogilvie, Clements, Hill, Whitman, Miller (trainer) Third Row: Connor (manager), Braggs, Nix, Bobbdy Smith, Scott, DeNiro, Barry Smith, Barnes, Mott, Dasher, Robbins, Allison, Bunch, Holcombe, Cowell, Bramblett, Searcy, Brock, Cayavec, McCombe, Hannah, Cates (manager). Fourth Row: Collins, Aydelette, Clark, Pitts, Marks, Brown, Mauro, Beazley, R. Ogilvie, Krout, Travis, Wood, Boyd, Lyles, Homan, McGriff, R. Jones, Cline, Lancaster.

Date Opponent Location Results Media
  Sat, Sep 08  Georgia Tech at Atlanta, GA 30 - 6 (W)
  Sat, Sep 22  Baylor Birmingham 45 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Sep 29  Vanderbilt at Nashville, TN 66 - 3 (W)
  Sat, Oct 06  Wichita State Tuscaloosa 38 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Oct 13  Florida at Gainesville, FL 40 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Oct 20  Tennessee Birmingham 27 - 17 (W)
  Sat, Oct 27  Virginia Tech Tuscaloosa 31 - 7 (W)
  Sat, Nov 03  Mississippi State Tuscaloosa 24 - 7 (W)
  Sat, Nov 10  LSU at Baton Rouge, LA 3 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Nov 17  Miami(Fla.) Tuscaloosa 30 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Dec 01  Auburn Birmingham 25 - 18 (W)
  Tue, Jan 01  Arkansas at Sugar Bowl 24 - 9 (W)

* Conference Games

     
    Alabama Black Friday Sale