1973 Season

Recaps PDF | Roster PDF | Statistics PDF | Superlatives PDF

1973 National Champions
Record: 11-1-1
Head Coach: Paul "Bear" Bryant
Assistant Coach: Sam Bailey, Jimmy Sharpe, Jack Rutledge, Dude Hennessey, Bill Oliver, Bobby Marks, Bud Moore, Mal Moore, Pat Dye
Team Captains: Wilbur Jackson, Chuck Strickland

Selectors: UPI, Berryman.


Front Row: B. Davis, Pizzitola, Boles, Pappas, Gantt, Ridgeway, Rutledge, todd, O'Rear, Sharpless, Bolden, McMakin, R. Davis, Odom, Perry, Riley, Spivey, Marcello. Second Row: Billingsley, Taylor, Nelson, Ford, Shelby, Prudhomme, Stock, Culliver, Washington, Beck, Strickland, Dawson, P. Harris, Murphy, Stokes, King, Rhodes, Dean, Lowe, Cary, Hall. Third Row: Hannah, Smith, Hubbard, DuBose, Robertson, Callaway, Duncan, Lambert, Croom, Hunt, Rogers, Hall, Montgomery, Whitley, B. Brown, Turpin, Yelvington, White, Eckenrod. Fourth Row: Ruffin, Patterons, Kubelius, Szubinski, Norman, Hanrahan, Maxwell, Sprayberry, Jackson, J. Brown, Wheeler, Croyle, J. Harris, Dyar, Pugh, Raines, Watkins, Kulback, Barnes, Cook.

Date Opponent Location Results Media
  Sat, Sep 15  California Birmingham 66 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Sep 22  Kentucky at Lexington, KY 28 - 14 (W)
  Sat, Sep 29  Vanderbilt Nashville, TN 44 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Oct 06  Georgia Tuscaloosa 28 - 14 (W)
  Sat, Oct 13  Florida at Gainesville, FL 35 - 14 (W)
  Sat, Oct 20  Tennessee Birmingham 42 - 21 (W)
  Sat, Oct 27  Virginia Tech Tuscaloosa 77 - 6 (W)
  Sat, Nov 03  Mississippi State at Jackson, MS 35 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Nov 17  Miami Tuscaloosa 43 - 13 (W)
  Thu, Nov 22  LSU at Baton Rouge, LA 21 - 7 (W)
  Sat, Dec 01  Auburn Birmingham 35 - 0 (W)
  Mon, Dec 31  Notre Dame at Sugar Bowl 23 - 24 (L)

* Conference Games