1965 Schedule & Results

1965 National Champions
Record: 9-1-1
Head Coach: Paul "Bear" Bryant
Assistant Coach: Howard Schnellenberger, Ken Meyer, Richard Williamson, Ralph Genito, Mal Moore, Pat Dye, Ken Donahue, Dude, Hennessey, Clen Gryska, Jimmy Sharpe
Team Captains: Steve Sloan, Paul Crane

Selectors: Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, National Championship Foundation, Billingsley, Football Research.


Front Row: Propst, Stabler, Hobson, Chatwood, Davis, Trimble, Brewer, Mosely, Homan, Canterbury, Bowman, Busbee, Kelley, Bross (mgr.) Second Row: Sloan, Raburn, Sherrill, Johns, Ray, Reitz, Moore, Bean, Moss, Calvery, Killgore, Carroll. Crane, Lyda (mgr.) Third Row: Bates, Somerville, Williams, Duncan, McLeod, Stewart, Kerr, Sullivan, Stephens, Harpole, Dowdy, Johnson, Morris. Fourth Row: Rustin, Davis, Sides, Thompson, Cole, Israel, Gilmer, Harris, Cook, Newbill, Shankles, Tolleson, Bedwell, Perkins.

Date Opponent Location Results Media
  Sat, Sep 18  Georgia at Athens, GA 17 - 18 (L)
  Sat, Sep 25  Tulane at Mobile, AL 27 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Oct 02  Ole Miss Birmingham 17 - 16 (W)
  Sat, Oct 09  Vanderbilt at Nashville, TN 22 - 7 (W)
  Sat, Oct 16  Tennessee Birmingham 7 - 7 (T)
  Sat, Oct 23  Florida State Tuscaloosa 21 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Oct 30  Mississippi State at Jackson, MS 10 - 7 (W)
  Sat, Nov 06  LSU at Baton Rouge, LA 31 - 7 (W)
  Sat, Nov 13  South Carolina Tuscaloosa 35 - 14 (W)
  Sat, Nov 27  Auburn Birmingham 30 - 3 (W)
  Sat, Jan 01  Nebraska at Orange Bowl 39 - 28 (W)

* Conference Games