1961 Schedule & Results

1961 National Champions
Record: 11-0-0
Head Coach: Paul "Bear" Bryant
Assistant Coach: Phil Cutchin, Carney Laslie, Sam Bailey, Charley Bradshaw, Pat James, Gene Stallings, Dude Hennessey, Howard Schnellenberger, Elwood Kettler, Clem Gryska, Don Cochran
Team Captains: Pat Trammell, Billy Neighbors

Selectors: Associated Press, Berryman, Billingsley, DeVold, Dunkel, Football News, Football Research, Helms, Litkenhous, National Championship Foundation, National Football Foundation, Sagarin, United Press International, Williamson.


Front Row: Richardson, Fracchia, Trammell, Clark, Moore, Wilson, Bible, Mooneyham, McGill, Davis, Dill, O'Linger, Hurlbut. Second Row: Jordan, Brooker, Wright, Abruzzese, Wilson, Patton, Allen, Hopper, Martin, Sharpe, Pell, Morrison, Wall, Holt, Pette, Rutledge, Layton. Oliver. Third Row: Wilkins. Battle, Weiseman, Henry, Tucker, Sanford, Versprille, Rice, Stephens, Burnham, Williamson, Nelson, Rankin, Cook, Lewis, Crenshaw, Neighbors, Boler.

Date Opponent Location Results Media
  Sat, Sep 23  Georgia at Athens, GA 32 - 6 (W)
  Sat, Sep 30  Tulane at Mobile, AL 9 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Oct 07  Vanderbilt at Nashville, TN 35 - 6 (W)
  Sat, Oct 14  N.C. State Tuscaloosa 26 - 7 (W)
  Sat, Oct 21  Tennessee Birmingham 34 - 3 (W)
  Sat, Oct 28  Houston at Houston, TX 17 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Nov 04  Mississippi State Tuscaloosa 24 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Nov 11  Richmond Tuscaloosa 66 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Nov 18  Georgia Tech Birmingham 10 - 0 (W)
  Sat, Dec 02  Auburn Birmingham 34 - 0 (W)
  Mon, Jan 01  Arkansas at Sugar Bowl 10 - 3 (W)

* Conference Games