Tide's Chuck Davis Top 30 Candidate for Senior Class Award


Sunday, December 04, 2005

Chuck Davis

TUSCALOOSA -– University of Alabama power forward Chuck Davis of Selma has been named one of the top 30 candidates for the 2005-06 Bayer Advantage Senior Class Award. The award, in its fifth year, is presented annually to the nation’s senior player of the year for Division I men’s and women’s basketball.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season in response to the trend of college basketball players leaving college early to turn professional.

The winner will be announced during the Final Four in April.

A national media committee will select 10 finalists for the award in February and those ten names will be played on a nationwide voting process during the NCAA tournament in March. Fan balloting will be coupled with results from voting by coaches and media to determine the winner.

Academic standing and athletic performance count in the voting. Davis will graduate from the University of Alabama on December 17, obtaining a degree in management in the School of Business. He will have earned his degree within three and a half years of enrolling at Alabama. In January, he will take classes toward a second degree as he continues his senior season of basketball.

Davis, who leads Alabama in scoring with his average of 17.2 points a game, is also a preseason candidate for the John R. Wooden National Player of the Year award.

The list of candidates joining Davis for the CLASS Award include: Hassan Adams (Arizona), Maurice Ager (Michigan State), Brandon Bowman (Georgetown), Dee Brown (Illinois), Greg Brunner (Iowa), Nik Caner-Medley (Maryland), Rodney Carney (Memphis), Mardy Collins (Temple), Paul Davis (Michigan State), Taquan Dean (Louisville), Randy Foye (Villanova), Mike Gansey (West Virginia), Justin Gray (Wake Forest), Taj Gray (Oklahoma), Vincent Grier (Minnesota), Dan Grunfeld (Stanford), Chris Hernandez (Stanford), Jeff Horner (Iowa), Gerry McNamara (Syracuse), Kevin Pittsnogle (West Virginia), J.J. Redick (Duke). Ray Allan (Villanova), Roy Brandon (Washington), Craig Smith (Boston College), Steven Smith (LaSalle), Patrick Sparks (Kentucky), Eric Williams (Wake Forest), Shelton Williams (Duke), and Curtis Withers (Charlotte).