Chuck Davis Named to John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50


Tuesday, August 09, 2005

Chuck Davis

Chuck Davis, a 6-foot-8 senior forward on the University of Alabama basketball team, was named Tuesday evening to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50.

It marks the third Wooden candidate Alabama has produced since 2002. Erwin Dudley was a top 20 Wooden finalist in 2002 and 2003 and Kennedy Winston was a finalist in 2005.

The preseason list, voted on by a national committee, is composed of 50 student-athletes who, based on last year’s individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball’s most coveted trophy, player of the year. Only two of the players that made this year’s preseason list, Duke’s J.J. Redick and Illinois’ Dee Brown, are returning Wooden All-Americans. Nine other players are on this year’s list after making the preseason list last year as well. The list includes Duke’s Sheldon Williams, Boston College’s Craig Smith, Wake Forest’s Justin Gray, Stanford’s Chris Hernandez, Pittsburgh’s Carl Krauser, Syracuse’s Gerry McNamara, Cal’s Leon Powe, Texas’s P.J. Tucker and Charlotte’s Curtis Withers.

Davis, a Selma native, was named All-Southeastern Conference in 2005 after averaging 13.9 points and 6.8 rebounds his junior season. Davis led the SEC in blocked shots (1.94 per game) in 2005. He will graduate from the University of Alabama with a business degree (management) in December, within three and a half years of enrollment. 

The Top 50 candidates include, alphabetically, Hassan Adams (Arizona), Maurice Ager (Michigan State), Josh Boone (UConn), Brandon Bowman (Georgetown), Ronnie Brewer (Arkansas), Aaron Brooks (Oregon), Dee Brown (Illinois), Nick Caner-Medley (Maryland), Rodney Carney (Memphis), Mardy Collins (Temple), Jameson Curry (Oklahoma State), Chuck Davis (Alabama), Glen Davis (LSU), Paul Davis (Michigan State), Taguan Dean (Louisville), Guillermo Diaz (Miami), Jared Dudley (Boston College), Jordan Farmar (UCLA), Nick Fazekas (Nevada), Daniel Gibson (Texas), Rudy Gay (UConn), Justin Gray (Wake Forest), Taj Gray (Oklahoma), Vincent Grier (Minnesota), Dan Grunfeld (Stanford), Chris Hernandez (Stanford), Jeff Horner (Iowa), Jarrius Jackson (Texas Tech), Ben Jacobson (Northern Iowa), Carl Krauser (Pittsburgh), Nana (Pops) Mensah-Bonsu (George Washington), Paul Millsap (Louisiana Tech), Gerry McNamara (Syracuse), Adam Morrison (Gonzaga), Steve Novak (Marquette), Kevin Pittsnogle (West Virginia), Leon Powe (California), J.J. Redick (Duke), Rajon Rondo (Kentucky), Brandon Roy (Washington), Craig Smith (Boston College), Steven Smith (LaSalle), Curtis Stinson (Iowa State), Curtis Sumpter (Villanova), Alando Tucker (Wisconsin), P.J. Tucker (Texas), Darius Washington (Memphis), Eric Williams (Wake Forest), Sheldon Williams (Duke), and Curtis Withers (Charlotte).