Alabama Places 48 Student-Athletes on 2014 SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll

April 25, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The University of Alabama had 48 student-athletes earn a place on the Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll, SEC Commissioner Mike Slive announced Friday.

Six men's players earned the honor, which ranked them second among the league's teams. Carl Engstrom (Health Studies), Retin Obasohan (Finance), Levi Randolph (Marketing), Dakota Slaughter (Marketing/Spanish), Ricky Tarrant (Consumer Sciences) and Isiah Wilson (Art) all earned the honored.

The Crimson Tide's 2014 SEC Champion gymnastics team saw 10 student-athletes make the team, led by 2014 NCAA Elite 89 Award recipient Lauren Beers (Exercise Science) and 2013 NCAA Elite 89 winner Kim Jacob (Exercise Science). In addition to Beers and Jacob, Kaitlyn Clark (Exercise Science), Sarah DeMeo (Interdisciplinary), Ria Domier (Chemical Engineering), Lindsey Fowler (Human Develop. & Family Studies/Early Childhood Education), Lora Leigh Frost (General Health St.), Diandra Milliner (General Health St.), Carley Sims (Public Relations) and Kayla Williams (Public Relations) all earned the honor.

A dozen members of the Alabama men's swimming and diving team earned the accolade, including Jake Carloni (Advertising), Brian Carr (Chemical Engineering), Cameron Conners (Electrical Engineering), Phillip Deaton (Chemical Engineering), Philip Dockery (Chemical Engineering), Clark Garner (Management), Bjoern Hornikel (Human Performance Exercise Science), Travis Kerner (Biology), John Servati (Finance), Brett Walsh (General Studies), Brian Westlake (Finance) and Andrew Wrist (Aerospace Engineering).

There were 17 members of the Alabama women's swimming and diving team who earned a place on the SEC Academic Honor Roll, including Lisa Bogosian (Marine Science), Brooke Elias (Marketing), Emily Facchine (Chemical Engineering), Brittany Gilbert (Communication Studies), Anna Rae Gwarjanski (Journalism), Victoria Hove (Human Performance Exercise Science), Stephanie Kinsey (Nursing), Stephanie Klotz (Communicative Disorders), Angely Martinez (International Studies and French), Paige McCleary (Human Performance Exercise Science), Keelin McNamara (Public Relations), Justine Panian (Chemical Engineering), Morgan Presley (Human Performance Exercise Science), Michele Rielly (Restaurant and Hospitality Management), Emma Saunders (Geography), Lauren Searcy (Human Performance Exercise Science) and Kristel Vourna (Human Performance Exercise Science).

Emily Davis (Elementary Ed.), Nikki Hegstetter (Marketing) and Briana Hutchen (Comm. Studies) were honored from the Tide women's basketball team.

To earn a place on the honor roll, a student-athlete must earn a 3.0 or better grade point average for either the preceding academic year or their career and be a sophomore or better in academic standing. The winter list honors those student-athletes that participate in men's and women's basketball, gymnastics and men's and women's swimming and diving.