All Five Crimson Tide Starters Make AP All-SEC Team


Tuesday, March 08, 2005

Kennedy Winston
Kennedy Winston

TUSCALOOSA – All five of the University of Alabama’s starters have been voted All-Southeastern Conference by the Associated Press. AP released its 2005 All-SEC men’s basketball team Tuesday.

Crimson Tide junior forward Kennedy Winston was named 1st Team All-SEC. Senior guard Earnest Shelton was named 2nd Team All-SEC, and three Alabama players, junior forward Chuck Davis, freshman point guard Ronald Steele and sophomore center Jermareo Davidson were among the five league players voted All-SEC 3rd team.

It is believed to be the first time all five starters at one league school have been voted to the AP All-SEC team since 1966 and only the third time ever. In 1949 and in 1966 Kentucky had five players named AP All-SEC.

The 2005 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference men's basketball team released Tuesday, with name, school, position, height and class (u-unanimous choice to first team):

First Team

u-Brandon Bass, LSU, F, 6-8, So.
u-Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State, F, 6-9, Sr.
Anthony Roberson, Florida, G, 6-1, Jr.
Kennedy Winston, Alabama, F, 6-6, Jr.
Chuck Hayes, Kentucky, F, 6-6, Sr.

Second Team

Ronnie Brewer, Arkansas, G, 6-7, So.
Kelenna Azubuike, Kentucky, G, 6-5, Jr.
Glenn Davis, LSU, F, 6-9, Fr.
David Lee, Florida, F, 6-9, Sr.
Earnest Shelton, Alabama, G, 6-3, Sr.

Third Team

Chuck Davis, Alabama, F, 6-7, Jr.
Carlos Powell, South Carolina, F, 6-7, Sr.
Patrick Sparks, Kentucky, G, 6-1, Jr.
Jermareo Davidson, Alabama, C, 6-10, So.
Toney Douglas, Auburn, G, 6-1, Fr.
Ronald Steele, Alabama, G, 6-2, Fr.

Player of the Year -- Brandon Bass, LSU
Coach of the Year -- Tubby Smith, Kentucky
Newcomer of the Year -- Glenn Davis, LSU