First Annual SEC East-West Challenge Set for Saturday

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM
ROLLTIDEDOTCOM

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM
Thursday, February 03, 2005

Chuck Davis



BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Divisional supremacy will be at stake on Saturday, February 19 as six interdivisional games highlight the Southeastern Conference men's basketball schedule.

For the first time in SEC men's basketball history, all 12 teams will take to the court in six interdivisional games on the same day.

"The SEC East-West Challenge" features South Carolina at Alabama, Florida at LSU, Auburn at Georgia, Tennessee at Ole Miss, Arkansas at Vanderbilt and Mississippi State at Kentucky.

So far this season, the East holds a 9-7 lead over the West.  The East has won the divisional series in nine of the 13 years that the SEC has been split into divisions.

In last season's games with these same matchups, each division won three games by an average score of 6.7 points per contest.  Three of the six games were decided by three points or less and the Alabama-South Carolina went to overtime.

Fans will be able to watch five of the six games on television.  Jefferson-Pilot Sports will televise the South Carolina-Alabama and Florida-LSU games at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT).  [Check the local listings in your area to see which game will be on in your market.] 

FSN South and SUN Sports will be televising an SEC doubleheader starting at 5 p.m. ET with Tennessee at Ole Miss followed by Arkansas and Vanderbilt at 7 p.m. ET.

The final game of the day, featuring Mississippi State at Kentucky, will be televised on ESPN at 9 p.m. ET (8 p.m. CT).  ESPN will anchor its college basketball coverage on Feb. 19 from Rupp Arena with College Gameday starting at 11 a.m. and 8 p.m. ET.

During the week of Feb. 19, fans will be able to vote at the SEC's official website, www.secsports.com <http://www.secsports.com/> , on the Regions Bank Fan Poll on which division will take top honors in the challenge.

SEC EAST-WEST CHALLENGE SCHEDULE
February 19, 2005

South Carolina at Alabama [JP Sports*]      3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT)
Florida at LSU [JP Sports*]                 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT)
Auburn at Georgia                           4 p.m. ET (3 p.m. CT)
Tennessee at Ole Miss [FSN/SUN]             5 p.m. ET (4 p.m. CT)
Arkansas at Vanderbilt [FSN/SUN]            7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT)
Mississippi State at Kentucky [ESPN]        9 p.m. ET (8 p.m. CT)

(* - Check local listings for the game shown in your area)