55 Alabama Student-Athletes Earn Place on SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll

ROLLTIDEDOTCOM The women's swimming and diving team led the Crimson Tide with seven student-athletes earning the honors
The women's swimming and diving team led the Crimson Tide with seven student-athletes earning the honors

July 12, 2012

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - A total of 55 University of Alabama student-athletes representing 16 teams were named to the 2012 Southeastern Conference First-Year Academic Honor Roll, SEC Commissioner Mike Slive announced Thursday.

The women's swimming and diving team led the Crimson Tide with seven student-athletes earning the honors. Football and rowing followed with six each. Baseball had five recognized, while gymnastics, softball and men's swimming and diving each had four student-athletes make the list.

Men's basketball, women's golf and men's track and field each had three honorees and men's golf, soccer, men's tennis and women's track and field each had two student-athletes honored. Women's basketball and women's tennis wrapped up Alabama's list with one student-athlete each.

The 2012 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2011-12 academic calendar year. To earn a place on the honor roll a student-athlete must have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution, be on scholarship or a letter winner, have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution and have been a member of the varsity team for the sport's entire NCAA championship segment.

The Tide had 56, 48 and 87 student-athletes named to the SEC Fall, Winter and Spring Academic Honor Rolls, respectively, giving Alabama a total of 246 student-athletes on the honor roll for the 2011-12 academic year.

Name Sport Major Austin Cole Baseball Lower Division Management Taylor Gilbeau Baseball General Health Studies

Jake Hubbard Baseball Lower Division Marketing

Benjamin Moore Baseball Lower Division General Business

Spencer Turnbull Baseball Undecided Education

Rodney Cooper Men's Basketball Pre-Business

Retin Obasohan Men's Basketball Pre-Business

Levi Randolph Men's Basketball Pre-Business

Aneesah Daniels Women's Basketball Lower Division Management

Ha Ha Clinton-Dix Football Criminal Justice

Phillip Ely Football Pre-Business

Ryan Kelly Football Pre-Business

Cyrus Kouandjio Football Pre-Business

Wilson Love Football Pre-Business

Vinnie Sunseri Football Pre-Business

Tom Lovelady Men's Golf Pre-Business

Justin Thomas Men's Golf Communication Studies

Daniela Lendl Women's Golf Exercise Science

Taylor Manning Women's Golf Undecided

Johanna Tillström Women's Golf Pre-Business

Kaitlyn Clark Gymnastics Exercise Science

Lora Leigh Frost Gymnastics General Health Studies

Brooke Parker Gymnastics Lower Division General Business

Kayla Williams Gymnastics Public Relations

Ashley Allison Rowing Aerospace Engineering

Emily Chadwell Rowing Secondary Education

Alyssa Drevenak Rowing Exercise Science

Kristen Hickman Rowing Exercise Science

Caitlin O'Neil Rowing Exercise Science

Logan O'Neil Rowing Math

Lauren Davis Women's Soccer Pre-Medical

Laura Lee Smith Women's Soccer English

Danae Hays Softball Pre-Major Studies

Leslie Jury Softball Pre-Major Studies

Danielle Richard Softball Exercise Sport Science

Jadyn Spencer Softball Pre-Major Studies

Phillip Deaton Men's Swimming Chemical Engineering

Clark Garner Men's Swimming Undesignated Engineering

Jordan Lesser Men's Swimming Pre-Major Studies

John Servati Men's Swimming General Business

Lisa Bogosian Women's Swimming Marine Science/Biology

Kayla de Boer Women's Swimming Civil Engineering

Emily Facchine Women's Swimming Chemical Engineering

Angely Martinez Women's Swimming International Studies

Katheryne Muth Women's Swimming Human Performance Exercise Science

Brittany Parkey Women's Swimming Nursing

Samantha Stanley Women's Swimming Undesignated Human Environmental Science

Stuart Kenyon Men's Tennis Mechanical Engineering

Rens van der Vis Men's Tennis Civil Engineering

Emily Zabor Women's Tennis Lower Division General Business

Ryan Coleman Men's Track Pre-Business

Kyle Ferguson Men's Track Aerospace Engineering

Matt Joyner Men's Track Mechanical Engineering

Nia Barnes Women's Track Telecommunication and Film

Merilyn Uudmae Women's Track Pre-Business