Mikey White Finalist for 2014 Brooks Wallace Award



May 23, 2014

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - Alabama sophomore shortstop Mikey White is one of the 16 finalists for the 2014 Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award, as announced by the National Collegiate Baseball Hall of Fame on Friday morning. The Brooks Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation's top shortstop and will be presented during the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas.

"It is not only the skills demonstrated on the field, but how these players represent themselves off the field which is what makes the Brooks Wallace Award so powerful," said Steve Mikolajczak, team sports division manager, Mizuno USA. "The group of players nominated for the award represent what it means to be a top baseball player and teammate."

White has started every game at shortstop for the Tide this season, and has started all 119 that Alabama has played over the last two seasons. In addition to starting as the Tide's everyday shortstop, he is also been the leadoff hitter the last 24 games.

For the year, White has a .303 average, which is fourth on the team, with 32 RBI and a team-leading 44 runs scored. He also has a career-high six home runs, which are tied for second on the club, to go along with a .440 slugging percentage with a .397 on-base percentage. In 24 games as the Tide's leadoff hitter, White has a .296 average with four home runs, 13 RBI and 21 runs scored.

Defensively, White has a .962 fielding percentage, committing just 10 errors in 262 chances in the field. He has also played a pivotal role in the Tide turning 49 double plays this season, as he has contributed on 35 twin-killings. As a freshman, White contributed on 55 of Alabama's 80 double plays as he posted a .962 fielding percentage on 316 total chances in 2013.

Get all the latest information on the team by following AlabamaBSB on Twitter and Instagram and on Facebook at Alabama Baseball. General athletic news can also be found at UA_Athletics on Twitter and Instagram and AlabamaAthletics on Facebook.

For more information on the Brooks Wallace Award or the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions, visit www.collegebaseballhall.org.

Name 	           School	             Conference
Blake Schmit	   Maryland	             ACC
Michael Russell	   North Carolina	     ACC
Trea Turner        North Carolina State	     ACC
Pat Sweeney        Rutgers	             American Athletic
Michael Massi      Mercer	             Atlantic Sun
D.J. Ruhlman       Seton Hall	             Big East
Dalton Britt       Liberty	             Big South
Peter Van Gansen   Cal Poly	             Big West
Tyler Wampler      Indiana State	     Missouri Valley
Sam Haggerty       New Mexico	             Mountain West
Dylan Bosheers     Tennessee Tech	     Ohio Valley
Mikey White        Alabama	             SEC
Alex Bregman       LSU	                     SEC
Vince Conde        Vanderbilt	             SEC
Blake Trahan       Louisiana-Lafayette       Sun Belt
Kyle Holder        San Diego	             West Coast